SUPPORT AMERICAN TROOPS! What does this statement mean?

SUPPORT AMERICAN TROOPS serving in Iraq & Afghanistan!

What does this statement mean exactly?

I am anti-war. Period. I was in the Army for 4 years. I signed the dotted line. I was 18 and legally an adult as far as the government was concerned. According to the government, I was able to make my own decisions (except of course I could not decide if I wanted a beer or not. The drinking age was 21. The government thought I was old enough to die for my country, but not old enough to have a beer, go figure. We’ll discuss that at another time.).

Soldiers join the military for many reasons. GI BILL, adventure, to get away, learn a trade, and yes there are even those Nationalistic ‘ate-up’ ones that join to kill a Commy for Mommy. Point is, regardless of the bells and whistles the Military provides; we all join a War Machine.

That’s it.

By joining the military, like it or not, you are supporting war. So don’t be surprised when they call you up (Reverves, National Guard included) to ‘serve’ (i.e. kill others and perhaps be killed) your country. You sign the dotted line, you are THEIRS.

That brings me to ‘Support The Troops’ and its implications. We all make mistakes. We’re Human. It is what we do: we fuck up all the time. But most of the time, no one hates us for our mistakes.

For example; we may be disappointed when our children do something we think is wrong, malicious or stupid; but we still love our children, we still nurture our children, we show the children where their mistakes are. We still give the children food, clothes, our love. We don’t put the child out into the street, spit on the child, beat the child.

In short we Support the Children, just not the (stupid, malicious wrong) actions they do.

Support the Troops. Indeed. But let’s not get that confused with Anti-war which the Media and those that watch Foxnews or listen to Glenn Beck (there are people take that guy seriously?) seem to muddy.  To see how this statement was received – Read the comments below then leave your own.

Peace in the Middle East.

What does it mean to support the Troops?

Discussion from Facebook

Quite Interesting Take a Peek.

Leon Rene LaPointe

We have to send them money?
Julian Bush
it means get them home!
Leon Rene LaPointe
Kinda like starving kids in Africa… Support a soldier, make sure he learns to read and write, goes to school, every few weeks you get a photo and a thankyou letter… I think?
Leon Rene LaPointe
Oh? So by supporting a soldier, the American army will send one to live with you at your own house?
·
Larry Glasco
it means stand behind them no matter your belief as they are only doing thier assignement or job as you do every day you have a choice to do your job or not they do not their consequences for not following orders are much more severe then you not … while you sleep or play on here they hardly ever sleep while you go shopping they wear the same clothes for days so yes please support them and let them no they are loved and cared for
Leon Rene LaPointe
I support the troops under that definition, I even support the war in afghanistan, but I do not support the war in Iraq…
Mars Alexandre
Like… psychological support ? Well , under those circumstances of “no choice” and go follow orders like a dumb dog , I guess it is fare at least thinking people feel pity on them and show some compassion…
Can you imagine the feeling of guilt after know that the whole thing was just a mascarade to steal a whole nation’s oil?
Well…I do believe in Obama’s intentions of peace , but that doesn’t erase that they massacred and destroyed a whole nation and murdered thousands of human beings under the new Hitler’s regime (Bush admin) Just for oil… or money or what ever the hell the son of a bitch was thinking …
Yes I do pity them (it is some sort of support isn’t it?)
No offense here , the U.S. are beautiful people and I can say that because I have very good friends there , just … thanks God dark ages are over , and finally U.S. can have a breathe … and so the rest of the planet…
Leon Rene LaPointe
Why else wage war? Oil is a pretty good reason to wage war! I think the thing that pisses people off is that they weren’t up front about it, if they had slick commercial made about how cool oil is before they invaded everyone would totally be for it… The mistake was not the act but the message. Hire better propaganda ministers is my opinion.
It means to send them care packages and let them know that you appreciate their service regardless of what you believe. As the sister to Paul’s COUSIN (yes that makes him my cousin too but the lack of support he has for my brother makes me feel less like family) who is deployed in Iraq as we speak, I find this sort of cruel and idiotic banter offensive. I don’t believe we should be at war but its not the soldier’s fault. I’m sure if any of you were in his place right now you’d be upset by the lack of compasion and understanding found here. I’m not stupid and I know all about your war for oil crap but I don’t care about that any more, what I care about is that my baby brother comes home safe. Talking about how there should be a war doesn’t make it go away!!!!! Voting the right people in does. So shut up and do something or go stop making asses out of yourselves by babbling sarcastic comments about men and woman who are doing a Jon most of you can’t do if you tried
Leon Rene LaPointe
Yeah, we understand all that but its more fun to be sarcastic on the internet.
Nicki Dunton
Well I’m glad that my 19 year old brother, soon to be father, risking his life round the clock provides you with hours of entertainment. *note the sarcasm* ignorance is bliss.  I’ve stated my mind and now I’m going to bed. Karma is a bitch 🙂 have a good night or day, what ever time it is where ever you are.
Leon Rene LaPointe
Oh c’mon now… Cheeky internet chat is not going to lose the war.
No its not, but I’m not concerned about losing or winning. Just my brother. I don’t find this “cheeky” either. I’m probably too tired to joke about my brothers life, goodnight
Leon Rene LaPointe
I erased my last reply and it was not related to any of your spelling or grammar. So you replied to something that I wrote before that made little sense… I said before previously that I am not against the troops, I stated before that I am anti-Iraq war, pro-afghanistan war… Anti-peace, pro-calm… And support your brother, but have no support for the crap that got him involved in an unjust war in Iraq. Cheers!
You must have erased it while I was typing my reply. Sorry. And frankly I was more upset with “mars” and their comments than yours. I have also previously stated that I don’t agree with the reasons we went to war either, but all that goes out the window when some one you adore is fighting that war no one likes. Your focus becomes them and their life, yes you still vote for changes etc but arguments like these become transparent and meaningless. Not nearly important as your loved one’s life. Yes, I’m passionate about this, its my brother that I love dearly, and I’m passionate about the people I love, don’t even get me started about my kids lol
Dwayne Young
The war in Afghanistan is just as unjust as the war in Iraq is in my opinon.
I can’t see how you can be pro one war and anti the other.
What has Afghanistan done to deserve what they got?
Is it because the Taleban supposidly harbour a fugitive that was supposidly “the mastermind” of 9/11…(the same Taleban who wiped out herion production while in power but which now flourishes under “occupation”)
Why not find the “fugitive” and leave the people alone!
The Taleban is the people of Afghanistans problem not the U.S or anyone elses problem.There is no need to meddle in their internal politics.
That is a problem for the people of Afghanistan to solve.The C.I.A has proven links to terrorist organisations…Does this then give permission for countries to go and liberate the people of America from tyranny???
It’s fuckin madness.Both wars are being fought on fraudulent fronts.
Damian Randall
I’m with Dwayne on this one.
Mars Alexandre
About your brother my friend , yes , I agree with you and understand and support your comment , I know that feeling as well, I also went to war but I refused to follow orders as I was fighting for a cause , not for money and I sure faced the consecuences. we all have a choice my friend , it is the beauty of being human … Free will…
M.A.D. Mutual assured destruction … When are humans going to understand that we are 1 species… I know war better than what I would like…pain,suffering,stress , it affects not only the victims and the soldiers , also thousands of families and relatives as it is your case, trust me I know…
I apologize if my comment was some how … offensive… But same as me , hour brother has a choice , we all do , follow , fight and even die is worth if it is for the right reason , to protect those we love , for freedom , for a noble idea . I do not support genocide under any circumstance. Get your brother out of there.
I admire your passion and support and understand your feelings.
Jennifer Marie Williams
Supporting troops also means being there for the families left behind. As achild of a military parent, I understand the psychological damage to the families and soldier this causes. Just as I know the consequences of themnot following orders like a “dumb dog”. If Boston is using this platform to provoke thought or change. What good does the sarcasm and bitching do for the rest who are passers by? I’d rather appear thoughtful, passionate and open to others perspectives than slinging insults whether intentional or not. Of course if the nternet is your alter ego… Makes me wonder what’d you do when the worlds ills are again at your front door. Will you stand and speak for yourself? Or will you look for that Persn in camoflauge to do the dirty work? Or that officer in blue you taunt at rallies? Curious.
Craig Zaidel
***i apologize for the length of this***

paul, it cant possibly mean something ‘exact’ for anyone. the statement itself has been been politicized since september 12th, despite the fact we have been intervening militarily in both afghanistan and iraq since the 1980s. ‘support the troops’ has become a red herring argument for both sides of the spectrum, thus deflecting attention away from why there is such a need for a military presence in the middle east in the first place. you people are debating in a house of mirrors. its sometimes embarrassing to read, but they represent baby steps.

the easiest answer is the right one – the US will never withdraw troops from the middle east because it never has. theyve been there for 30 years already. this is a global, imperialist, strategy set in motion a generation ago. geo-politically, the US govt knew it must maintain their ground, along with corporate and national ties, to stay afloat in latter half of this century. russia has resources that china will need once the mediterranean shipping lanes and, most importantly, pipelines (see afghanistan), will be auctioned to the highest bidder (and by bidder, i mean the one with the biggest gun – a.k.a. the US). the chess pieces just arent already on the board, we are halfway through the match. … See More

most people dont even realize theres a game going on.

the amazing thing about revisionist history is that most people dont read what comes before it, deluded by the belief that as the species evolves so will the integrity of our intentions, or, at least, the integrity of the literate. ironically, history has shown us the opposite, which is why its imperative to absorb as much as we can from all viewpoints and all times.

we sit and read/watch another report of a suicide bomber blowing up a crowded market, or listen to absurd shit-politik and we take our anger to the only place we believe to have a voice… the internet. and we yell things like, ‘tyranny,’ and, ‘no blood for oil,’ and other meaningless statements like, ‘support the troops serving in iraq and afghanistan!’

however, i have friends in those countries right now and i would like to see them again. this is why i suggest that this statement cannot ‘exactly’ mean the same for anyone.

Brian Michael Fall
“Support the Troops” What does it mean? It depends entirely on who says it.
To one, it may mean “shut up, look the other way and let us do what we what, right or wrong.”
To another, it may mean “stop wasting them in foreign lands and bring them home to serve where they’re needed, respected, wanted and loved.”
Whatever reason you say it’s for, the fruit has rotted and fallen off the tree before it even ripened.
Where’s the cheap gas? Where are the shining new democracies of the middle east?… See More
WWII was fought over 6 years covering an entire contintent ( I’m only referring to the European theatre here) involving many countries against an army that even at that time makes the best of today’s middle eastern armies pale in comparison.
I think the relevent question is why the hell isn’t the job done yet?
If you were performing your job in this half-assed manner, you’d have been sacked ages ago.
In short, political and military leaders of today are disgracefully useless, incompetent and inept.
The only I agree with Craig is that it means something different to everyone. The rest goes back to what I said about how all of these political and philisophical discussions become mute when we are waiting for a loved one to come home safely. I appreciate all the positive and understanding comments made. Sitting here debating on facebook ISN’T going to change the world or humanity, living your live positively will. and in one of my lasts posts it should say that he is soon to be A father, I Re-read it and realized it sounded like he was going to be MY father lol
Yeah. Oil and in the name of god. Two perfectly good reasons to wage war *rolls eyes*. Hey, just think, if the world hadn’t used either of those for that very reason, we may only have Hitler to blame for anything, right?
Kristen LeNormand Arute
So much commentary from such uninformed people! Like being an authority on parenting when you don’t have any children of your own! Having an opinion is one thing, but the sarcastic pseudo-intelligent comments are pretty ridiculous. Nicki, my brother-in-law didn’t meet his son until he was 5 months old because he was stationed in Kuwait 19 years ago. It was very difficult on my sister and the whole family. I hope your brother doesn’t have to wait 5 months to meet his baby. I wish him a safe return home.
Thank you so much Kristen! His son is due in December, he is going to to get his mid-your leave for that time but no guarantees, he may have to wait just as long unfortunately.
Kristen LeNormand Arute
Good luck! I hope it works out. And he could be home for Christmas too! 🙂
Rick Wolfe
Support the troops by supporting peace!
Hey, my cousin was 6 months pregnant at the time of 9/11 and was due at work in the north tower that morning. She had morning sickness and missed her commuter rail into Manhattan. Thank the gods for small favors, or I would have lost more than the one relative I did that day (cousin whom I didn’t know related by marriage on one of the planes that went down). My boyfriend is former navy and very proud of it. We all have our reasons to support or not support the military in whatever form. Here, I’ll open a whole new can of worms-Bush was a fucking idiot who should have been shot and put out of our misery.
Yeah but its not the military’s fault, the politicians control the military so its rather ignorant NOT to support our soldiers who are in harm’s way. My brother didn’t cause any conflict with Iraq or Afganistan, but its him over there, (saving lives mind you as a crew chief of a med unit) not bush or any other politicians. Direct your anger at the right people and leave the people who die for YOU out of it.
Lisa Davis Owens
Lisa Davis Owens
What does supporting the troops mean? To one Army Mum that has started a program called Operation Desert Swap (a group of people who actively support our troops with letters cards, care packs & books) it means that there are peoples sons/daughters, fathers/mothers, sisters/brothers, nieces/nephews, grandchildren, aunts/uncles, cousins, and friends who are far far from home in conditions that a family member or friend hates to see them in. A dangerous place, a place far different then they are used to, who deserve to be remembered, cared for and appreciated.

To clear the muddy waters you all have created let me tell you that there is a difference between supporting the war(s) and supporting the human beings invovled in it/them. There is a difference between fighting for your country and fighting for your gov’t. You ppl act as tho America is a home of politicians. America is filled w/ millions of ppl, ordinary ppl who want to be protected against terrorism (which includes being terrorized by our gov’t)

Over my dead cold body will my son and the others who serve be treated like my husband was treated when he came home from Vietnam. They are only the game pieces not the game players. Keep your criticism for the players.

For a group of ppl proclaiming love & peace, you sure are filled with hate, intolerance & disrespect….hypocrits.

Now, I am done, for those w/o the brains to figure out what that means, it means I will say no more on this subject.

  • “Now, I am done, for those w/o the brains to figure out what that means, it means I will say no more on this subject.”

BP Note: I love this line. Now I am done and you know what that means? I’m finished. I will say no more… really! That’s it. No more on this subject! The end!

Rock Starkey
Isn’t it pretty similar, actually, to “support your local convenience store sales clerk”? I mean the functionality is fairly similar right? They both give you things you don’t need at a fraction of what they cost in terms of resource availability. And they both smell of ointment… sometimes. At least my local one does… haven’t smelled any soldiers lately. I think it’s late.
Mars Alexandre
Who ever it is that has a brother overseas …
I see just a blank silhouette with no name on it , so feels like writing to a ghost here …
So what you are basically saying here is that your brother is a volunteer victim of the system , and you are deeply worried about him? (Don’t mean to be rude here bro , I really know what you are going through)
1) Who named US “police of the world”?
2) Why US has troops in the middle east?”Terrorism”? or just has military advantage so can invade any nation that has something US wants…… See More
3) I am not against US , I am against war … ANY WAR! and I do believe at this point of evolution humans SHOULD UNDERSTAND THAT WE ALL SHARE THIS PLANET AND HAVE NOWHERE ELSE TO GO.
4) So they are rebuilding what they messed up , and saving the same people they murdered?
5) No matter the excuse army has to be in foreign land , just the fact they are there it is an invasion.
So , if some bigger nation invade your land and kill your family , would you love that nation?
6)THE GREAT MENACE OF TERRORISM… let me try to find something that actually makes sense on that one… Oh yes … money…
7) So , if 9/11 was a legitimate terrorism attack (With all do respect for the victims and their relatives) means it is a license for murder anywhere any time , even send your brothers and sisters to a living hell and cause pain and death to so many people?
8) Why US military has to make sure no one else has nuclear power? (I AM AGAINST WEAPONS OF ANY KIND)
9)Who can certify that US military has no nuclear weapons?So the rest of the planet can sleep in peace.
10 Gorge Bush … same as Hitler … Will he ever take responsibility for his actions and go to trial?
Brother , your brother is risking his life in a war that is not his war , you are in a horrible pain because of that just to make millions to the Bush family.
Tell me: Are you still support this criminal?
I sure hope your brother returns home safe , you can be sure he will be in my prays.
Leon Rene LaPointe
Go live in Afghanistan… The thing is pre-gulf war II anyone could have lived in Iraq with very little problems in a vaguely secular society… Afghanistan has been fucked for ages. I support the NATO intervention in messed up country that treats its citizens like shit beyond any of the little tears the oh-so oppressed western world has with all these oh-so terrible conspiracies we have all the time in the world to follow, while people are getting their heads chopped off in afghanistan for being gay or a supposed adulterer… Fuck peace, I support moments of calm. Peace is achieved when humans get a new brain or finally die out and replaced by the next bunch ass-munchers.
Mars Alexandre
The world is divided …
Proves that humans are no longer one species…
So sad…
Anyway … internal politics of another country…
How is that US concern? Is it humanity?
Or just a chance to find an excuse for an invasion , stealing resources and make millions?
Well , let me rephrase that…
How is that Gorge Bush concern?
Leon Rene LaPointe
By all of your hippy dippy wishy washy logic we should have allowed the Nazi’s to totally eradicate Europe. People who can afford that form of logic are usually the privledged. The rest of the world has to eat what is put on the plate while we get our panties in a bunch over a slice of meat…
Leon Rene LaPointe
The world aint divided, there ain’t two species of mankind, there is just humans and human problems… In order to remove the problems you must remove the dynamics of the human mind, you must remove variables , you must remove drama, to remove these aspects of the human mind you create machines, peaceful machines at the expense of all this chaos makes us non-human… I would rather live here on this flawed earth than an eternity in heaven or an engineered heaven on earth ran by men who ideologized peace, for heaven if it does exist would very quickly be just like earth if humans are in anyway involved…
Leon Rene LaPointe
THE ONLY GOOD PARTY… IS A RIOT!!!
Mars Alexandre
Mr. LaPointe:
1) “By all of your hippy dippy wishy washy logic we should have allowed the Nazi’s to totally eradicate Europe.”
ISN’T GORGE BUSH EXACTLY THE SAME AS ADOLF HITLER? (answer depends on which side of the line are you , as everything else is relative , isn’t it?)
2) “People who can afford that form of logic are usually the privileged.”
Maybe , yes , I have two master degrees and very proud to say I made it myself , I was a street child and remember looking for food in the garbage outside the local restaurants , I cleaned toilets to pay for my studies and still now feel I am the same , only have acquired knowledge (in the end , that is all I will take with me , things will remain here)… See More
It is how you rule your thinking , your mind and your heart what makes you get out the hole… and become who you truly are.
But this argument is not about you and me and how different we think as we have no power to change anything , only let go a little bit that bitter feeling all this oil-money war parade has left within all human kind.
Craig Zaidel
chaplin – modern times/great dictator
kurzweil – the age of spiritual machines
Leon Rene LaPointe
George Bush was/is hardly Hitler, as much as that would be nice for us to have a super villian in our generation. Obama is actually the anti-Christ 😛 so touche Hitler!

Your ability to even go and get an education is because of this evil conspiracy against humanity society we live in. I don’t think children in Afghanistan get that option in the slightest unless their parents happen to have tonnes of money. I am not saying that it doesn’t happen, but it would be fair to say that an average impoverished westerner has a better oppurtunity to elevate themselves than one would in Afghanistan prior 911.

The world is not a battle between good and evil or black and white… It is merely a clusterfuck of grey.

Mars Alexandre
Ha! There we go! Yap , have them both and love them both.Well… I can perfectly imagine Bush and Powell “The great dictator” Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!
Leon Rene LaPointe
Mars Alexandre
Mr. LaPointe :
When and where I grew up had very similar conditions to those places you mention (Yes an average of 100 murders a day , and police doing nothing but stealing and assaulting , oppression as you have no idea) Still I will not deny I was lucky to scape…

“The world is not a battle between good and evil or black and white… It is merely a clusterfuck of grey.”
I like this one , and totally agree.

Sure, just ask and I’ll share.
Leon Rene LaPointe
Mars I enjoy finding out your view on these things, trust me I not hell-fire and damnation or even actually concerned about world politics, I do admit that I don’t toe the popular line on a lot of issues though, I am neither democrat or republican. I personally believe that the only real peace a man can hope to achieve is hopefully within his own family or a small group of friends. Strive for the small victories, I guess…

Everyone wins in internet debate!

Mars Alexandre
It is the beauty of free will , my Grand Father used to say : “Respect for others rights and choices is peace”
I like this debates very much , it’s very interesting to know others thinking to this matters , everybody is different and I have to tell you I have learnt a lot today.
Thank you very much for the link , I bet anyone who reads it will find it strangely familiar…
Londoner Taichung
We can’t even support one another…
Mars Alexandre
Good one La…
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2010/01/26/support-american-troops-serving-in-iraq-and-afghanistan-what-does-this-statement-mean-exactly/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. honestly the only reason to support a troop is cos like u said when we have children we support them even when we dont like what they do. In this case they would be like children who made costly mistakes. In my opinion it should be the parent ( in this case head of a government or army ) that should be critized much the same way about parents who don’t care about their children the way they should because as a parent( government) you have the responsibility to steer kids in more or less right directions and provide free advice and guidance.I also think its bazaar how a country classifies you as legal to go to war and die as if that’s wonderful before the legal drinking age. That is not so where I am from luckily .


Leave a Reply

