Interview with ‘Picasso’

The Chat

I had the opportunity to chat with an accomplished renowned artist who has seen the world many times over. To say he is eccentric may be an understatement. He’s an extremely private person and I can only publish this chat under the condition he remains anonymous. For this report, we shall refer to him simply as Picasso.

BostonPaul(BP): I know you want to remain anonymous, but can you tell us where you are from originally?

Picasso(P): No.

BP: I see….

P: I will give you this: I am from everywhere. Home is the place I hang my hat as you Americans say. I need to travel all the time because I need to be inspired. Experience is my muse.

BP: I thought women were an artist’s muse.

P: That is because you are a testosterone filled hairless monkey.

BP: Uhm… right… moving right along.

P: True artists need to express themselves all the time and not worry about the consequences.

BP: Perhaps, but don’t you think that if you went into a bar and called a couple drunk guys testosterone hairless monkeys, you might be asking for trouble?

P: Life is trouble. Are they as fierce as a hurricane or tornado? Are they as violent as an earthquake? I fear no man.

BP: Even a man that could hurt you very badly?

P: Life is pain. The human body is very resilient. If that happened, I would use my blood on canvas and make another masterful creation.

BP: Could you tell us what your discipline is?

P: Whatever I am inspired to do. Painting, sculpting, everything. My mansion is filled with my different phases of my life and its creations.

BP: Wow. Sounds like art has been paying the bills.

P: Never speak of art that way. My art does more than just pay the bills. It changes lives. People weep when they see my work.

BP: I would hope that your art does more than pay the bills… you don’t have much of a sense of humor, do you?

P: I do. But you would not understand it. My mind is a complicated thing; you can see that in my creations.

BP: What would be some good advice for someone just starting out in the art world?

P: For those wanting to make a serious attempt at breaking into the art world, it will be easier to create something, then kill yourself. Your art might then have a chance. I’ve not seen much skill out there. Though I do applaud the artist that took the crucifix and put into a jar filled with his own urine and angered the Catholic Church, it was hardly thought provoking nor creative. Satanists have been doing that for hundreds of years.

BP: How do you know that?

P: I just do.

BP: What are your spiritual beliefs?

P: I grew up in the church.  My mother and father made a deal, Catholic Church until I was about 10 and then Protestant Church until 15 then I could decide what religion I wanted to follow. I left the church at 15 bewildered and to the chagrin of my parents. It was a bit of an odd religious circumstance.

BP: OK, you haven’t really answered my question about your spiritual beliefs…

P: Why is it relevant what I believe in? I am not trying to convert you, so why tell you what I believe in?

BP: Point taken, but I feel art is a spiritual thing and many works of art reflect what the artist has experienced and what his beliefs are. I feel it’s a valid question. Also you mention that you applaud the heresy of that artist that offended the Catholic Church… why would you applaud that?

P: Religion is a poison. A farce that has made the world a terrible place. When I paint, one may notice in my work that I paint alternative worlds. How things might have been had there been no religion.

BP: I do agree that religion is a manmade evil phenomenon that has made Life on earth difficult. Christians have killed and tortured more people in the name of Christ than all human wars combined in history. But don’t you think that perhaps some people need religion just to get by… that religion gives mankind some kind of hope?

P: Humans created religion because they are egocentric and cannot accept that when they die they are worm food. These hairless apes are not nearly as smart as their hairy ape cousins … we know this because the hairy apes were smart enough to not create religion.

BP: I see.

P: Religion is oppressive and repressive. It makes the hairless apes into flocks of birds. A point bird leading the way and the rest following.

BP: We would say they are like sheep in Amerika.

P: Whatever metaphor you wish to use. Religion comes from hairless apes prehistory. When they were just starting to lose their hair and walk upright. They needed to explain the phenomena they observed around them. It is mind boggling that with sciences i.e. biology, physics, anthropology etc, that they still feel the need to find answers in a fictional evil dictator that resides somewhere up in the sky.

BP: True. But they do, most of us are indoctrinated as kids. We believe what our parents teach us.  So you are calling the god of at least 3 major religions an evil dictator?

P: Precisely. Fictional. Man has always used some form of religion to control or persuade the masses. The populace fears the unknown. The God that we read about in the Bible and such books is a ‘god of love’ yet how does evil grow out of love? Satan was made from god? It is contradictory. The God of the Jews, Muslims and Christians says He loved man, but man fell evil. Then god kills everyone and destroys cities. That is why the world is in chaos now. Parents that beat their children are going to have children that carry it on. Fanatics read about what their god has done to his enemies (enemies that He has created by the way) and they will act accordingly… look at the Holy Wars and crusades.

BP: Yes people kill for their religion based on faith…

P: What amuses me the most are Christians.

BP: Why?

P: They believe that Jesus saved their souls by dying and being resurrected. They have no idea that Jesus, who I believe to be fictional, has only followed suit with other gods.

BP: Yes, I have been reading about that lately myself… that the Life of Jesus was copied from other revered deities.

P: Aahh maybe I had you pegged wrongly.

BP: How so?

P: You have an army tattoo on your chest… I thought you were a typical red-neck Amerikan.

BP: Uhm… I preferred testosterone filled hairless monkey to red-neck Amerikan, though.

P: Suit yourself.

BP: Please continue…

P: Gods and deities throughout the ages have had similar lives to that of Jesus.

BP: How so?

P: First many gods were ‘born” on or near December 25 – right around the winter solstices. The son is actually the sun. Most of these gods were born of virgins, and most of them were killed and resurrected. There is not one original thought in Christianity, only contradictions. The gospels can’t even agree on the Life of Jesus.

(Here is a list of gods that predate Christianity. I hope your readers will research)

MITHRAS: Same birthdate as Jesus, but some 600 years earlier.  Born of a virgin.  A traveling teacher/master and had 12 disciples. Performed miracles. He died and was buried in a tomb. After three days was resurrected.

KRISHNA: 1200 BC was born of the Virgin.  Was presented at birth with frankincense, myrrh, and gold. Worked miracles, restored sight, cast out devils, and raised the dead. Was baptized in the River Ganges, crucified between two thieves, died, buried, and resurrected in three days.

HORUS: Egypt circa 3000 BC. Horus was born of a virgin on December 25.  He was crucified, buried in a tomb, and then resurrected.

The Greek god ATTIS, born of a Virgin on December 25.  Was both the Father and the Divine Son. His crucifixion and subsequent resurrection were celebrated annually, with ritual communions of bread and wine.

PROMETHEUS born on December 25, descended from heaven as God incarnate as man, to save mankind, and was crucified, suffered, and rose from the dead.

ADONIS, HERMES, DIONYSUS and BACCHUS were all born on December 25 of virgin mothers.

BP:  I have read about some of these gods… this can all be checked out, right?

P: Of course it can.

BP: Why do you know so much about it?

P: Because as artists, we should always seek Truth and reflect that Truth in our art. That is why I create the way I do. My work seems to be religious, but my art mocks religion. Perhaps that is one reason I am not allowed to travel in the Middle East because of the way I depicted Mohammed and the virgins he said martyrs will enjoy in heaven.

BP: Which is the reason you wish to remain anonymous.

P: One of the reasons, yes.

BP: Is there a way to contact you?

P: No. I will not come back to Taiwan – at least it is not in my plans for quite sometime. I granted you this interview for helping me order a meal since I do not speak Chinese. I have paid my debt to you. I hope your life is enriched. Keep doing what you believe is good my little beatnik. It is doubtful our paths will cross again. I must leave now.

BP: Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule.

P: Yes. You’re welcome. Please beckon my driver.

And so ends this chat with a prolific artist who must remain anonymous.  His paintings mock religion and his words are direct and sometimes cutting. But still I felt privileged to have this chat. We should all keep seeking Truth and indeed have it manifest in your art to keep the masses aware.

Published in: on June 25, 2012 at 4:02 PM  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2012/06/25/interview-with-picasso/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Paul, if you get a chance, read Joseph Campbell’s The Hero with a Thousand Faces. It’ll resonate with the last half of this interview.


Leave a Reply

