Living Healthy, Cleansing, Diet and Other Tidbits

1forPaul

Cleanse Now And Again, Make Minor Diet Changes and Live Healthy

Greetings & Welcome! This article was originally written in 2008 for the Health Section of the Taichung Voice (now defunct).

Blogged here: Originally Published on: Jan 15, 2010 @ 10:39

This article is meant as an introduction/synopsis. My hope is that there is enough information provided so that you may make important life changes. We only go around once in this life, so let’s live it (healthy) for all it’s worth.
I have broken my educational rant down to a few sections:

1. EDUCATION
2. MEAT
3. A CLEANSING EXPERIENCE
4. DOCTORS
5. DIETS
6. CLEANSE
7. INTESTINES
8.
FREE RADICALS and ANTI-OXIDANTS
9. ELEVEN (HEALTHY) COMMANDMENTS
10.OTHER TIDBITS

Who is cleansing for? Is it for the Vegan or the Hippy? Is a good Cleanse meant for the Beatnik or the Long-Haired, bead wearing, Flower Child promoting Peace & Love? These are certainly the stereotypes. But do you ever wonder why all these types of people seem happy and calm (except when talking about Politics that is)? It may have something to do with their diets. Many disregard the many forms of Vegetarianism as odd or eccentric.

Cleansing & Health often get thrown by the wayside because the thought of a cleanse or changing one’s Lifestyle seems too difficult. Many often laugh at or scorn the Vegetarian. But maybe there is something to it, eh?

I have studied Wellness &  Health for about thirty years. My Library has a plethora of books about the Human Body. I don’t just read about Health, I practice & experiment on my body. By doing this, I have seen the Light. Much of what I have discovered concurs with much of what I have read. The Proof is in the Pudding, they say… though you better stay away from the Pudding.

I have included a list of very helpful books and sources at the end that I urge you to take a look at. I hope this article serves as an eye opener and that you will do some investigating on your own.

1. EDUCATION:

Nutrition & Health are seldom taught at home or in our schools. Being a skinny kid, I got into weight lifting when I joined the army at eighteen. This in turn got me into Nutrition – though it took years before I realized that many bodybuilders don’t eat right either. One thing that helped me take the Healthy Path was that I learned how the digestive system worked. I was fairly knowledgeable about vitamins & minerals, but researching and collecting a variety of  information has transformed my Life.
I have scoured one book after another and have found an abundance of information on-line. I’ve spoken with nutritionists & medical doctors many of whom have been of great assistance.

Why health? I figure we only have one Body. We can’t trade it in for a new one. It makes sense that we should take care of the one we got.  Knowledge is Power. You can have the power over your own body with just a little knowledge.

2. MEAT:

Growing up I always heard, ‘don’t eat too much red meat’. Why? I asked. I was told that it was not good for my heart. Yet it is in one of the ‘food groups’ recommended by the government. If professionals are claiming that red meat is not good for us, then why are the masses consuming such large quantities of it? Marketing & Education (indoctrination) may have something to do with it. People still go to McSwindle Burgers, Burger Krap and The Dirty Bird all the time. Why would people go to these fast food places when they know it is not good for them?

It amazes me.

Being a hardcore meat-eater for many years ( a typical day would be steak & eggs for breakfast, beef tips for lunch and a nice sirloin for supper) I felt meat was an important part of my diet as a body builder. I felt ‘justified’ eating enormous amounts of dead animal because I hit the gym hard everyday and ‘needed’ the protein. But a few years ago, I realized I could not ignore the dangers of meat any longer… I also realized that if one is eating meat for protein, they are not getting as much protein as they think they are because much of the meat is not properly digested.

Other sources of Protein:

Legumes: Garbanzo beans, kidney beans, soybeans, split peas, lentils, lima beans, navy beans,

Grains: Brown Rice, Barley, oatmeal, quinoa, rye, wheat germ, buckwheat, millet, wheat, wild rice

Vegetable Protein: Cauliflower, cucumbers, eggplant, green peas, green pepper, Artichokes, beets, broccoli, brussels sprouts, cabbage,  kale, lettuce, mushroom,  watercress, yams, zucchini, mustard green, onions, potatoes, spinach, tomatoes, turnip greens,

Protein in Fruit: honeydew melon, orange, papaya, peach, pear, pineapple, strawberry, apple, banana, cantaloupe, grape, grapefruit,  tangerine, watermelon

Protein in Nuts & Seeds: Almonds, cashews, filberts, hemp seeds, peanuts, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, walnuts (black)

Mind you, initially I did not give up meat because I felt bad for the little creatures, though now my philosophies have changed since then. I gave up meat strictly to stay Healthy. I knew I had to give it up. And believe me, I didn’t want to. It tasted so good! But I realized that really it’s all just programming. We can train ourselves to think almost anything tastes good. That’s why many Taiwanese like chou dou fu (stinky tofu) & chicken ass/feet… we must de-program ourselves.

I know now that eating meat really boils down to animals suffering and dying for the taste buds only.

I also thought that if I gave up meat, then what would I eat? I found out easily enough. And have expanded my food options like never before. I don’t miss meat anymore, though the smell of a good BBQ always makes me smile.

Purely psychological.

One reason I gave up meat is that a lot of it is genetically modified. For example, much of the chicken used for the fried chicken patties you get at the roadside stall , are now bred with no heads and just enough of a brain stem to keep their bodily functions going to keep them alive. Generally it takes a chick a full six months to reach adulthood. A chick now can become a ‘chicken’ with lots of meat on it in about a month… enormous profits are being made by the Corporations at the cost of your Health. And I am not just talking about meat. I’m talking about additives in processed food, so it looks good, tastes better and is more addictive.

Unless I am raising an Animal by myself in my backyard for food, I don’t trust any meat that is mass-produced. I also trust no government agency that says the Dead Animal you are munching on is safe to eat. The FDA is a joke. I do not trust the corporations either; they exist to turn a Profit.

Some time ago, here in Taiwan where I reside, there were a few tons of diseased pork that was supposed to have been disposed of, but instead ‘disappeared’. I wonder where it went. These are just the People that got caught! I hope you have not been eating pork lately.

Here are some of the problems with eating meat:

• A lot of meat is genetically modified.
• The living conditions of these animals are often unsanitary which goes directly into you when you eat it.
• The breeding practices for animals meant for consumption are questionable ( i.e.; animals eating their own species mixed in with their feed, shot full of Hormones and shot full of Antibiotics to keep them from getting too sick in their tightly packed living areas etc).
• Too much ingested meat is NOT good for you (See INTESTINES).
• Cooked meat can be cancer causing.

Animals now carry diseases that infect humans and symptoms might not show up for years. Mad Cow Disease is the perfect example. Symptoms for this debilitating disease might not show up for over 10 years. I watched a documentary of a young women late 20s dying of this. So when they say that was an isolated case, or, that happened in another country or ‘our’ meat is fine… it is all BULLSHIT –  no one has any way of knowing you ate contaminated meat.

Our fowl have the flu and our swine have foot & mouth disease. They tell you it is safe… but how can you ever be sure? Again there are documentaries and information out there concerning fellow humans dying of these diseases. And I don’t believe these poor souls thought that they were eating any contaminated meat at the time. After all, that meat was FDA or USDA approved right? Then it should be fine. Right? They do not give a shit about you. They care about money. If you want to be healthy, it is up to you to take charge of what goes into your body.

Remember, you are ingesting all that crap and it is doing a number on your body. Cows eat GMO feed that has pesticides in it, you eat the cow. I won’t get into the Bovine Milk thing here, that’s another article, but it is appalling.

(You can read the Dangers of Milk here:  https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2010/01/21/health-the-dangers-of-milk/)

Here’s a disturbing thought; many of you reading this already have cancer and do not even know it. Think about it. A man, say 47 years old, gets cancer. It is not something he got yesterday; it is something he had growing in him for years. And though genetics and environment have their roles with him getting cancer, it is arguably his diet that gets him into trouble  (We will get to FREE RADICALS and ANTI-OXIDANTS in a moment).

With all this in mind, quite a few years ago, I decided to give up meat and only eat raw vegetables and fruit for a week and then fast for a couple days to see what would happen. That was when my life started to change.

3. A CLEANSING EXPERIENCE:

After what was supposed to be a week of organic fruit & vegetables, I tried it another week and then another. As a body builder, this was difficult for me, especially when I went from 85KG  (and less than 15% body fat at any given time) or so to less than 70 KG in about 3 weeks. I had lost all my fat (I was only about 10% body fat right before my cleanse), a little muscle I’m sure (I got that back later) and pounds of toxic waste. What came out of me was indescribable. Those of you who have done a Cleanse before know what I am talking about… those of you that don’t, try experimenting yourself.  You’ll be amazed. It is not le poo poo that comes out… but a Toxic Monster that takes on all shapes, colors and odor; the likes that you have never experienced coming out of you in your life.

It freaked me out.

Had I not been researching the Art of Cleansing & Building the Immune System, I would have checked myself into a hospital or found an exorcist. The evacuation did not look ‘natural’ and emitted a chemical smell that one might smell when traveling up the east coast through New Jersey.

The Monster that emerged was years of Dead Animal accumulation, a hardened mucous (like a plaque) see INTESTINES.

After my first Cleanse, I felt more energetic. My skin looked better. I had no more indigestion. In fact, it has been years and I have never been sick. Not a cold. Flu. Fever. Nothing. My weight eventually leveled off. I fluctuate between 73 KG and 78 KG depending on the season and what kind of exercise program I am following. But most importantly my immune system is strong. My aggressive nature is also less prevalent. I have also reduced my risk of heart problems, cancer and anything else that bombards human beings.

And all it took was a little discipline and a little research.

Though I refrain from eating meat, I do not believe – like some Vegetarians – that Early Humans did not eat meat. I disagree. Early humans did ingest meat sometimes, especially when fruit and vegetables were not in abundance. In most parts of the world meat was never the main focus of the diet however. In fact, eating habits for most Human’s right up until recent times were generally low in carbs with lots of fruit & vegetables. Some meat was eaten when it was available (ever try hunting? It’s not as easy). Compare that to diets today that consist of high carbs and lots of meat. It is not natural. I don’t believe our bodies are equipped to handle that everyday of our lives. Heart attacks victims are getting younger and younger. Obesity is rampant. Heart attacks & obesity were almost unheard of in the early 1900s. I have a few conspiracy ideas about why heart disease and obesity are such a problem… I won’t get into them in detail here… but take a glance at the DOCTORS section.

4. DOCTORS

Here is a list of why I might go to the doctor:
• To sew me back up if I get bit by a shark.
• To set my bones if I high dive into a pool and I find out too late that there is no water in it.
• Remove tattoos with a laser. (It hurts too!)
• Delivering a baby (though a midwife might be better).
• To perform surgery for removing cancer (though there are other options depending on how far along the cancer is (see GOOGLE below).
• Doctors are also good at pumping us full of antibiotics when we are sick (antibiotics do not work very well against a virus)

Doctors are good at cosmetic things too like:
• Liposuction (eeeewwww)
• Making your breasts bigger (or smaller)
• Doctors are pretty good at changing the features on your face i.e. making your teeth straight or giving you a pretty nose.

Doctors are not good at finding a cure. They generally are there to make you feel comfortable and promote Pharmaceuticals.  ‘Cures’ can also be very expensive and might not work.

Technological advances in the Medical Field are certainly an achievement for Human Kind. Knee reparation is a a good example. Knee surgery is now common place and has eased the suffering of millions through-out the world. But surgery should always be used as a last resort.

Unfortunately surgery is often abused, but hey, it’s Profitable.

Did you know that your average medical doctor is not required to take any nutrition courses in order to get their medical degree?
How can one trust doctors whom are not required to take any Nutrition courses? And why do they want you to be healthy anyway? They make money from you when you are sick. They want to prescribe you drugs and make appointments for this often pays for that long vacation and new BMW. Not all doctors of course, but take away the high salaries and see how many doctors we get.

Allow me to digress a moment…

If you are a Truth Seeker, then you know that the government does not want smart, healthy people in its dominion. They would be too difficult to manage and god forbid if the government was overthrown. They want dumb, docile people that are easy to control.

Sun Zi in the ‘Art of War’ writes that there are two ways to control the masses:

1. Keep them ignorant; fed and entertained, so they will not meddle in government affairs.

2. Keep them living in a constant state of Fear (sounds like the States, huh?)
Call me crazy, but that is why medical treatment is so expensive and is not very good, it is also why education systems around the world basically suck. More on that another time.

5. DIETS:

They are all bullshit. They are DIE with a T. I love when I go back State-side and I hear things like, “oh I am trying the Oprah diet. It worked for her.”

Yeah right, she practically starved herself … took some pictures, and all the sheople were like,  ‘oh Oprah, our hero… you go girl!” And then she gained it all back plus some. These fad diets are all BS because they pump you full of hope, then break you down with no way to build you back up again. And if you fail, it is YOUR fault not theirs. You have been duped. These diets all have sexy people do commercials for them and make you think that you need to be like them, but you know what? It’s all a farce. The diets usually do not require the vitamins needed for your average person. The Grapefruit diet? Come on. Eating nothing but grapefruit to lose weight? That could do some serious damage to your body and immune system. Stay away from these diets promising you that you will be the sexiest thing alive… they are missing the whole point.

What is the point? The point is being Healthy. If you live Healthy and take care of your body (the only one you got) you will lose weight by default. I’m not going to be polite here. I am not going to give fat a cute name like pleasantly plump. If you are fat and have health problems (it is connected), it is because of your eating habits/Life-style. Fat bogs down your system, makes your heart work overtime, clogs up the arteries, makes your immune system sluggish and generally makes you feel overall crappy. And the ironic thing is that you don’t know how crappy you felt until after a Cleanse/Life-style change. Most often fat is a by-product of being unhealthy. Our bodies were not meant to be lugging around all that extra poundage. There is nothing good to be said about it. If you are fat, statistically,  you will die earlier. I have had some people say that they don’t care if they die early… What a selfish copout.

Many North Americans and Europeans (members of my family included) are over-weight, obese and unhealthy. How many times have we heard, “I have a weight problem.” I love that one. The problem is not the weight, my dear. The problem is YOU. Stop stuffing yourself with the highly addictive garbage food! What the hell do you do that for? With a little discipline and understanding, you can be Healthy. You don’t want to focus on losing weight. You do want to focus on being Healthy. You will lose weight by default. Stop getting on the scale to see how much you weigh… who cares? Throw the scale away. It is a terrible barometer, because our weight fluctuates from hour to hour!

A lot of what we lose the first few days is water weight. You really must understand your body so you know what kind of weight you’re losing. Muscle weighs more than fat remember. If you are cleansing, a few KG will be ‘evacuated’ when it is scraped off your intestine walls.

Also remember, our parents are our teachers. Remember being sad when you were a kid… what did mom or dad or a grandparent do often? They gave you candy or ice cream to make you feel better…. or to make you stop crying. Fast forward to when you are an adult, what makes you feel good? Eating sweets? Why? Because they taste good… why? I’ll tell you why, because we were all TAUGHT that they do.

So now Ms. Chubs feels down because she does not look like the pictures in the magazine… she eats a few chocolate bars and feels good .. briefly. Then it all goes to her thighs & ass AND it is not nutritious; thus the body is lacking nutrients it NEEDS to survive. Almost like putting something in the gas tank besides a combustible fluid. She feels bad… to make herself feel good again she eats MSG laden potato chips that are all the same shape.

Mr. Chubs eats a big chili dog or a Philly steak & cheese. He gets fatter, his heart is under more strain, and he feels terrible… so what does he do? He binges again.

This shite accumulates in your body.  And it also disrupts your body getting the nutrients it needs. How you may ask? Read INTESTINES.

Do you want to be Healthy? Do you want to live to be a ripe old age? Then watch what you put into your body. It is that simple. Get a little exercise. It doesn’t have to be too much. Just get the heart rate up. Do a couple Cleanses and get that disgusting toxic waste – yes TOXIC – out of your body. I have done a few… and let me say it again…  you will not believe what will come out of you.

If you joined the gym and some big muscle guy is telling you how to be fit and healthy… be wary. A lot of these guys are regurgitating Fitness mag BS. But he looks so good, he must be doing something right. Not necessarily. Generally, a lot of these guys at the gym… believe me I know, I was one of them… are big meat eaters. They stuff themselves and then work out all day. Many do know about how the digestive system works, they know about the body but only in relation to bodybuilding or power lifting. Though I do have bodybuilding friends that are very knowledgeable, they are few and far between.

Aaahh, so what do we do? We can’t trust the magazines, we can’t trust Mr. Universe, can’t trust the FDA they are always screwing up and recalling shit. So who do we trust?

Mother Nature. She hasn’t failed us yet.

It is almost a no-brainer.

6. CLEANSE:

First, prepare you body for a little basic training. You have to cleanse. Get the crap that has been in your body for YEARS  to come out. It will be reluctant… but after a while… you will be clean on the inside… everything else will just fall into place. But don’t do it cold turkey… though you are welcome to try. It would be like trying to get off heroin… you may be addicted to carbs, meat and probably garbage food that has addictive things added to it so that you will eat it and keep eating it.

Prepare your body. For the next week. Eat fruits and vegetables, if you eat meat, allow yourself to eat meat every other day. You can alternate meat on Monday carbs on Tues. Do not mix your proteins and carbs (Read INTESTINES). Eat as much fruit, vegetables and legumes as you want. Eat until you are not hungry. You may be hungry every ½ hour and that is OK. Eat often, just make sure it is fruits, vegetables and legumes. You will become quite creative in ways to make your dishes. The second week, cut the meat and carbs out. Continue to eat raw vegetables and fruit, with one cooked dish a day. The third week, only raw fruits & vegetables. By this time you are already noticing differences in your body, you might have even had an interesting evacuation experience.

On the last day of the third week. Try not to eat anything. Fast for the day. Keep yourself busy, but don’t do anything too strenuous. If you can, give two days a try. Perhaps you fast for the daylight then have a very light meal of fruit in the evening. It’s ok. Over the next 5 weeks or so, your body will be going through many changes. You are building up your immune system. In two months you will be a new person.

I know people that have been trying to get healthy or lose weight since I was a youngun’, they are still trying to lose weight twenty-five years later. Two months doesn’t seem like much. There are many types of cleanses you can do, do a bit of research, talk to me if you see me, or look for the books I have listed below.

7. INTESTINES:

You got to keep the intestines clean for the following reasons:

• Keep digestion normal.
• To make sure you are getting all the nutrients from your food.
• To keep your immune system strong.
• To keep the parasites (you probably have them, yes) at bay.
• To keep free radicals from accumulating and doing their dirty work.

The intestines should be like a processor, taking the food you eat, breaking it down taking out what it needs through osmosis in the small intestine and then the large intestine and finally to the colon where it is evacuated as waste. The problem is that most people do not digest their food well. They eat too much (going to all you can eat places and gorging is a bit stupid) and they eat the wrong food combinations (carbs and proteins). With the enormous amount of information out there, it can be a bit overwhelming to sift through it all, but in a moment you will see a few Guidelines I have boiled down for you (See COMMANDMENTS).

Our bodies were not designed (I use the word design loosely)  to eat proteins and carbohydrates together. This is what I was talking about when I mentioned food combinations. For example, when you eat beef noodles or chicken and rice or a ham sandwich or a BK Burger with cheese, these are the worst food combinations you can put into your body! Your body digests the noodles i.e. the carbs first. Your body naturally goes after the sugars first (yes carbs are a sugar).

Meat takes a lot longer to digest… some of it doesn’t get digested. The dead animal that you ingested sits in your small intestine in a very humid 98.6F (and is still rotting by the way discharging lots of free radicals which are the building blocks for diseases such as cancer) an ideal breeding ground for parasites and free radicals. Now the body has to protect itself, so it excretes this mucous to keep the walls of your intestines from rotting too. If you eat meat and carbs together once in a while, then this mucous would be flushed out with the bile naturally, but since people are eating carbs and protein together almost everyday for every meal, this mucous gets hard and turns into a plaque… and it accumulates and stays in you forever unless you cleanse it out. This causes parasites (that feed on this plaque) and can eventually make you sick.

8. FREE RADICALS and ANTI-OXIDANTS:

What is a free radical? Basically it is a molecule missing an electron making it is an unstable and reactive. It then seeks other cells to cannibalize their electron  – making it a free radical as well. This is cancer, heart disease and the rust on your car. Sounds dismal doesn’t it? There is hope. The enemy of the free radical is the antioxidant. It engulfs the molecule and lets itself become a ‘weak’ free radical that won’t do any damage to your tissues. Lipoic Acid, Q10, vitamin C and E, they stop free radicals and in some cases restore them as active anti-oxidants.

And the rest….

9. The Eleven Healthy Commandments:

With the glut of information out there, it can be a bit overwhelming to sift through it all, but here are a few rules I have boiled down for you. Your best bet for healthy living (and by default keeping your weight down) is to do the following:

1. Eat when you are hungry. Most people are conditioned to eat three meals a day. This is ludicrous. People started eating like this when they were made to work in the factories. Eating at appointed times is not natural. Our species is the only animal  on earth that does this.

2. Eat until you are not hungry. I know this sounds weird, but eating until you are ‘stuffed’ is bad for you. It makes your system work harder than normal and you are robbed of vitamins your body usually processes easily if not burdened with being over taxed. If that means putting your fork back down and literally walking out of the room and then walking back in to see if you still have those hunger pangs then do it. Pack up what you didn’t eat and eat it later.

3. Do not eat proteins and carbs together. If you must eat meat, then try to at least skip a day. Eat meat on alternate days like Mondays and carbs on Tuesdays etc. Eat nuts, legumes, fruits and vegetables everyday.

4. Do not eat carbs after 6ish PM if you go to bed at midnight. We do not get much exercise when we sleep. The carbs are just kind of feeding the fat cells.

5. Drinks LOTS of water. Water is a great cleansing agent.

6. Try to fast one day a month. Don’t forget to drink water mixed with lemon and chili peppers that day.

7. At least once a week, eat fruits and vegetables only. You will be doing your body a great service with these slight changes.

8. Use ‘green drinks’ if you are able to get a hold of them. They replenish everything.

9. Generally, if man made it, be wary and use sparingly. This includes bread, noodles, all junk food, and most carbohydrate.

10. Get a little exercise in to get your heart rate up. You don’t have to pump iron or run 10 miles a day. A 10 minute walk around the block or climbing stairs for about 10 minutes every other day will suffice. I recommend doing more, but try to do at least that.

11. Deep breathing and stretching a couple times a week for 10 minutes. Take 20 deep breaths every day.

10. OTHER TIDBITS:

Remember:

1. Prevention is the best cure.
2. It takes less money to live healthy than going to see the doctor when you are sick.
3. You will lose weight by default the healthy way and will not gain it back if you continue with the lifestyle. You do not have a ‘weight problem’ you have a YOU problem, easily fixed with eating habit changes.
4. Your sex life will be better.
5. Your thinking will be clearer.
6. You will become agitated less (while cleansing though sometimes agitation is heightened, but that is because your body is de-toxing).
7. You will drastically slow the aging process.
8. Your immune system will be stronger.
9. Your heart will be healthier.

GOOGLE (or Duck Duck Go):

1. Fluoride – poison
2. Protein and Carbohydrate/Food Combinations
3. Cleansing The Body
4. Antioxidants/grape seed and cancer
5. Holistic alternatives to modern cancer treatments
6. Bovine diseases
7. Cattle and its effects on the environment
8. The Dangers of Free Radicals on the immune system
9. Deep breathing exercises and why we should do them
10. Why should we stretch?
11. The Dangers of Milk
12. Dangers of antibiotics useless against viruses.
13. Cleansing and parasites

Books to check out:

1. The Tao of Health, Sex and Longevity by Tim Reid
2. 7 Day Detox Miracle by Peter Bennett and Stephen Barrie
3. The Immune System Cure by Lorna Vanderhaeghe and Patrick J.D. Bouic
4. The Antioxidant Miracle by Lester Packer and Carol Colman

Find me on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/BostonPaul (Boston Paul: A Militant Hippi)

COMMENTS FROM ORIGINAL INTERNET POST ON FACEBOOK:

Thanks for the info bro!
Really thoughtful and well written Paul. (I am feeling very half-assed now) This is an area that I need to continually work on. Day 13 today of no sugar (although it is only the really major sweet stuff)
and I need to continue to peel away more layers of bad eating habits.

Thanks for the info. 🙂

Boston Paul:
Thank you Sammy and Nancy! Would love for anyone out there to do a follow up, their own experiment or research and share the info with us.

Sammy, I know you have done a couple Monster Fasts…

Nancy I know you are in the middle of a sugar fast… care to share?

1LUV

Hi Paul. It sucks. 🙂
I enjoyed the article and the milk article, thank you Paul!
I agree we eat only when hungry.
Few years ago, I was eating when I was happy, sad, or nervous or wanted to celebrate something and even just only smelt the food or saw the food commercials.
I ate all the time. I gained lots of weight and felt unhappy, and then I quit those eating habits.
Now, I eat only when I am hungry. I feel happy, healthy and appreciate the food.
My rules for healthy life are very simple–eating right and working out.
Avoid eating dairy products( alfredo pasta taste good but makes me diarrhea), confectioneries, deep fried foods, and meats.
Exercise at least 4 times a week, every time for 45 mins.
Very Simple, right?
Ya, I have done a short, medium and a monster fast… it’s just too bad I don’t have the discipline to cutting out all the junk after and keeping on a regular exercise program. I was looking into doing a kidney flush… but there are lots of roots that i don’t know how to find. I will do more research on it. Do you know of any foods that are good for kidneys?
I know cherries, grapes, and strawberries are good for flushing out toxic wastes from the kidney.
Stick to fresh vegetables and fruits and drink plenty of water.
You may check out this site
http://www.davita.com/diet-and-nutrition/lifestyle/a/2113
Dude, fantastic article/info.
Thanks.
Share your comments, insights etc with us!

Leave a Comment below!

Last Edit: April 29, 2014

You can FOLLOW Boston Paul at Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BostonPaul

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2014/04/29/health-living-healthy-cleaning-diet-and-other-tidbits/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am in some of the beginning stages of healthy awareness! This means that I would have NO problem being a full time vegetarian as I do not like meats much at all, nor do I eat fried food (fish places) that much! I am very relieved actually to learn about this as I have been dealing with Diverticulitis for approx. eight years now! I would love to read more! Thank You!

  2. Juice cleanse recipesare very effective in removing the harmful wastes in the body.
    The 2 Day 24 hour detox Diet should only be undertaken every 2 weeks.

    That’s all nothing else, no other supplements or food only those three items.

  3. Reblogged this on Militant Hippi.

  4. you are right on many things but unfortunately your data on physician salaries or education are slightly outdated. The starting salary for a GP (peds, fam med, internist) is about 120-135,000. And they are working about 70-80hrs/week which when compared to the average job that is 40hr/week is about 65,000/yr. Top it off that most have over 200,000 in education loans to pay back and you will realize medicine is not what it once was. Gone are the days of half a mil salaries. Sure the elite plastic surgeon in beverly hills might be making that but recently a colleague at the Yale math grad program crunched the numbers and found that when you take into account salary to hrs worked, education debt, and retirement benefits a US postal worker will come out ahead financially if both retired at age 65. And yes, they do study nutrition in medical school, it happens to be on the national board exams, I would know, I just took them.

    • Thank you, Jo!

      I’m in the process if updating some of these Posts.

      When I finish, take another look and see if my stats etc are right.

      Peace,

      bp

  5. Sun Zi in the ‘Art of War’ writes that there are two ways to control the masses:
    1. Keep them ignorant; fed and entertained, so they will not meddle in government affairs.

    2. Keep them living in a constant state of Fear (sounds like the States, huh?)

    Reminds me of what my dad used to say about Communist Europe. He always said it would collapse. His reasoning is what was important.

    It wasn’t so much about about “good” or “evil” or even economic reasoning. To paraphrase, while the communists had #2 down, they had no fucking clue how to do #1. The key to their doom was that their education system was accessible and good, all things considered. Once they didn’t have to worry about meeting daily basic needs, the population would become smart enough to realize the government was never going to give them the rest of #1 (entertaining, consumerist, diversions and a break from unending government propaganda that only reminded them of #2). Smart people with nothing to divert their attention would eventually figure out a way to overcome #2, so they could get #1.

    Topic for another day, but many of them are ironically…let’s say…”underwhelmed”…with what they have now.

  6. When I saw the content list, I couldn’t stop laughing. I missed some of what you were saying and had to re-read it.

    1. Education
    2. Meat

    The more time I spent at school, the more I felt like moo-ing. The whole goal is to fill you with basic, official versions of what you are supposed to know and be interested in. Most of all, it is intended to make you as mentally passive as cattle and used to structure and regimentation imposed from above. (Actually, the primary purpose of modern education may be as cheap daycare so that both parents can work for corporations.)

    University was better for content, but the system was even colder and more depersonalizing. Janitorial staff have much more clout at universities than students.

    Moo!

  7. I have to comment on the whole meat thing.
    I believe that the human race is a lot like the animal world,in that there are carnivours,omnivours, and plant eaters.there is nothing wrong with that, and every thing in moderation,is ok. I would like you to tell a lion to start eating plants(it might make there life easy)As far as the fast food world is concerned, that shit is poison and really isnt food at all!

    • Indeed Stephanie.

      I agree with your last statement concerning fast food. Though I prefer to call ‘fast food’ what it really is: garbage. I’m glad that we both agree that it is poison.

      We are all Mammals. Some Mammals kill and eat other Mammals.

      Most Mammals do not feel Empathy.
      Most Humans do.
      Lions kill their Food.

      Humans do not have to.

      If you brush up on your biology, you will see that the small & and large intestines of the Lion (and other Carnivores) are very different from say a cow, or the biggest Land Mammal; the Elephant – both which are bigger than the Lion and also Very Vegetarian.

      Where do these Vegetarian Mammals get their protein then?
      Certainly not by eating other mammals.

      The way various Mammals digest their food is also different. Which is why many mammals have a mono diet.

      Rats and Humans, being omnivores, can eat almost anything.

      I would like to think that though we call Life a ‘rat-race’ that we are not actually rats.

      The point is, Our Evolution has brought our Species to the point that we do not need to eat other Mammals to survive. And remember, meat was only eaten by humans when other means of sustanance was scarce (no vegetables in the winter). Why go out and hunt and kill when food can be simply Gathered?

      We can get all the nutrients – including protein -from plants, fruit, legumes and other species that do not breathe and are able to Suffer.

      Thus, if we do not need to eat dead animal for nutrients, then we are eating dead animal simply because we think it ‘tastes good’ which is selfish, barbaric and relegates the consumer of the Flesh to being – not of a highly developed species – but just simply a ‘mere’ Mammal like the Lion we discussed earlier.

      Take a peek at this: http://www.meat.org and meet your meat.

      1LUV


Leave a Reply

