Boston Paul & The Refuge – Click-Bait? Our Response to an Odious Blog Post

“Hell hath no fury like a Dakeng Hippie criticized…”

~ Titus Pants

Recently, it was brought to my attention by friends and supporters that someone had written a not very flattering piece on The Refuge, a Refuge event called Hobo Happiness, and specifically me – whom many of you know as Boston Paul.

I’ve broken My Ranty Rebuttal down for you so that those of you that are part of the Refuge Community or personal friends (actual friends – more on that later) can scroll to parts that you want to read and skip other parts you already know.

You’re welcome.

Here are the Titillating Tasty Tidbits – broken down for you:

1. Why I’m Writing This Piece
2. My First (and only) meeting DBT

3. The Refuge History
4. The Hobo Happiness Event
5. The Food & The Bonfire
6. The Bits about Boston Paul
7. My Thoughts

8. The DBT Article Reposted for your reading (dis)pleasure.
9. (NEW) I Re-Wrote DBT’s Article
https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2015/12/24/odious-scathing-blog-post-rewritten/
10. COMMENTS ON DBT’s  POST FROM SOCIAL MEDIA

 

1. Why I’m Writing This Piece

I managed to read the article after the link was sent to me by a few people. I was a bit surprised by the piece and especially by the author whom I had just recently met in person – though briefly – at The Refuge.

The piece seems to have upset quite a few people and a flood of cell texts and messages filled my PM box. Friends even came to see me personally. The outpouring of love and concern has touched my heart.

Being the hard-ass that I am however… I was just set to ignore it. This is not the first time I have been the center of gossip, controversy, and the angst of others. When you are a well-known person in the community, these things happen. One has to accept not only the pros of being well known, but the cons as well. Either that or become a hermit… and I’m not quite ready to do that yet!

Unless there is a situation/conflict that would put my family and friends in harm’s way, the Militant side of Militant Hippi – my alter ego moniker – would take care of things pronto. Otherwise, I just let stuff like this roll off my back. I have more important things that need my attention.

But Alas, here I am in my cold studio, my freezing fingers reluctantly banging out words on the keyboard, addressing a blog post and setting the record straight for those who need balance.

2. My First (and only) meeting DBT

I will call this gentleman by his initials only. The reason being that if his article was meant for click-bait for his blog, I will not help him get those hits. I am very supportive of free speech and of the community, but will not be manipulated or used to garner attention. Had his article been well written, thoughtful, well researched and had asked me a few follow up questions thus making his article factual, I would use his name, and he would get my full support and by default the hundreds if not thousands of people I am connected to around the world.

Oops.

The only contact I have ever had with Mr. DBT the “blogger” was allowing his blog posts to be published on The Refuge Wall when other pages on social media refused to post his blog links as they were deemed “irrelevant” or “scathing” or not fact based i.e. opinionated drivel. He subsequently thanked me for publishing his pieces. He then came to one of our events – Hobo Happiness IV to be precise – found me as he was leaving and introduced himself. Interestingly, he chose not to publish this particular piece on The Refuge Wall.

He seemed like a friendly enough man. He made no mention of the things that ailed him at our event. He made no mention of wanting an interview with me concerning The Refuge, our events or me personally (as many in the past have done). Just two minutes of exchanging names, a hand shake, a minute of small talk, me welcoming him to our community, and one more handshake before I dashed off back to the soundboard to keep the Musicians sounding good.

That’s it. That was the extent of our contact.

Thus, it is baffling – and many of you agree me-thinks – why he would write this piece – and with such ‘authority’? He obviously took time out (apparently not enough time as there are many factual errors) to go to my blog and ‘research’ me… I guess that is flattering. However, it looks like he merely cherry-picked bits in the name of ‘research’ and used some of those pickings in his meandering, opinionated report.

First, just so DBT understands what we do… a brief Refuge History:

3. The Refuge History

We moved to our house, which became our home, almost 16 years ago – a few months after the big devastating 1999 earthquake. The house was a bit farther away from the city, was on a dead end street and had a good sized yard. Perfect.

The house had been empty for years and to be fair, it was a bit dilapidated. We rent – just so everyone knows – and we pay about the same amount of rent as those living in the city except we get a lot more for our money.

There was a lot of work to do on this house. Indeed, as DBT mentions, once upon a time this house was beautiful – snobbishly beautiful – as most of the neighborhood houses were owned by executives from the Renault Car Corporation in a time when Taiwan was still not quite one of the four economic dragons in Asia.

It’s not snobbishly beautiful anymore of course as DBT so eloquently points out in his diatribe. But it does have character. We keep it clean (though we should dust a bit more!) and it is always a work in progress.

The Refuge has an eclectic collection of art, doodads, trinkets, musical instruments and a pretty damn good sound system. It is a friendly inviting place that is always – as many of you know –morphing into something different, new and interesting. People come from all over the Island with their ideas, and artistic know-how.

DBT bases his perception on one short visit. He did not go upstairs where our home is – nor will he as we block that part off and keep it separate from the first floor Refuge. The second floor is our beautiful home. Carpeted, comfortable and cozy with a library, three bedrooms, a living room, two bathrooms and three balconies. We keep this private as many of you can understand. We are pretty public/social people, but we still need a private place to escape to now and then.

He also did not visit our third floor (which we use for storage.) I mention the third floor because he mistakenly called our home a “what must have been a beautiful, western-style, two story cement tiled home on a cul-de-sac…”

ANYWAY, the first time we saw this private dwelling at the end of a cul-de-sac, we were excited that we could entertain many of our friends – which we love to do – who lived in the city and needed to get away.

Soon other friends – artists, musicians, intellectuals and one hell of a carpenter (who still lives across the street!) moved into other empty houses in the neighborhood… the beginnings of The Refuge Community were born.

Friends from the city would visit, lay in the grass, look up at a sunny sky while birds were chirping and exclaim… what a refuge!
Hearing this so many times and from so many different people we all started referring to our home as The Refuge. There was no other place like it that we knew of in Taichung and at the time, no one was doing what we were doing… yes, it was a bit revolutionary.

Because of my love of music and art – and the whole birds of a feather concept – Our ‘refuge’ attracted artists, musicians, thinkers and supporters from all walks: Many Taiwanese frequented our place of course but there were also people coming from all around our beautiful island paradise – and the world.

Since then, almost every single expat I know – even if they haven’t directly added to The Refuge charm – has certainly been touched by The Refuge Community in some way. The Refuge influence has spread all around the Island.

When the mayor of Taichung shut all the bars and music venues down in Taichung a few years ago, The Refuge Community stayed open defiantly and at a risk. It has been said many times that we saved the music scene in Taichung as we were THE ONLY venue in Taichung where bands could play. That is one helluva bit to put on our resume I would say. The Refuge Community saved the Taichung music scene.

You’re welcome.

I have been fortunate to be able to live this kind of life. A life that most people can only dream of. Have there been risks? Yes. Have there been sacrifices? Indeed. I used to make a lot of money running three English schools that I opened by myself starting in 1995. I gave that up to pursue a life in art, music and community and we now live on whatever we make from events, sound engineering gigs, recording bands, playing shows and a few private classes.

This of course is none of DBT’s business, but he seems to want to know who I am… so there you are.

3. The Hobo Happiness Event

DBT writes:

“The reason for my visit was to attend a Facebook advertised “4th Hobo Happiness,” with musical guest Jack Conqueroo, a Robert Johnson-styled electric blues guitarist, harp player, and singer from Canada. He was rather good, though his set was too short. The  act before him, of two drunken male guitarists singing Dylanesque songs, went on too long. Mojo and Sons, who came on after Cook, was a country folk trio of banjo, guitar, kazoo, clarinet, and great harmonies.

I’m glad we agree that Jack Conqueroo’s set was too short. Indeed.
The two drunken foreigners who played early in the day were excited to be part. They are both aspiring musicians, did the show without pay, were nervous to be sure and were appreciative of the opportunity given to them by their hosts.

In the comments to DBT’s article he responds to one of the many comments bashing his piece :

“You (DBT is the ‘You’ here) write an article with the vantage point of seeing hundreds of gatherings with thousands of folk singers over forty years, the best folk singers who started revolutions, not garden parties, and you will have a different perspective.”

Indeed, so DBT is a Folk Gatherings Slut… I’m all about that! Would love to hear some of his stories about other festivals he’s been to (spanning over 40 years!).

All folk singers start from somewhere though, don’t they? Bob Dylan – before he was called Bob Dylan – had a band in high-school called Danny & the Juniors. During a talent show performance the principal cut the microphone because the performance was ‘too loud’ and I suspect a bit too radical for the conservative audience. Though Dylan went on to be part of a revolution, please note that while he was at University, he performed in simple coffee houses.

The point is, that our ‘simple garden party’ is a place for many aspiring musicians to start and get support from the community.

I’ve seen musicians go from our ‘simple’ garden parties, to our very big festivals and then onto even bigger festivals not only here in Taiwan, but in other countries – and make a bit of a name for themselves.

Is DBT a musician? An artist? Does he know what goes into putting an event on? Writing a song? His statement here is ignorant at best.

DBT then writes:

I didn’t catch the name of the pedestrian folk singer who came on after the bluegrass trio and talked too much about himself; I left mid-set.”

 

I suspect DBT left mid-set of my friend and world traveler. The man whose name was on the event invitation – Scott Cook & The Refuge present – the man who got nominated for a folk singing award in Canada and made the top ten list on university radio stations. A man on the road most of the year. Good on you, DBT.

Though Scott’s been a musician since he was a kid, Taiwan is where he found himself and as he rises in the music world, he always makes an effort to come back and see his Extended Family here in Taiwan as we have always been there for him. You can ask Jack Conqueroo about him. Even Jack – the man DBT came to see – was happy to be part of Hobo Happiness IV and has played with Scott at other venues in Taiwan as well.

DBT was privy to a special gathering, and the opportunity flew right over his head in the name of click-bait and what seems to be a pompous self-worth. Based on the comments I’m not the only one, after reading his article, who feels this way.

5. The Food & The Bonfire

DBT then writes:

“The “Food by Rita’s Kitchen” was simple and no pizza did I see from Rocky’s Pizza from 4pm when I arrived until 7:30 pm when I left. Rita’s kitchen was vegetarian chili and burrito. Despite the “healthy” meatless cuisine, there was plenty of cigarette smoke and vape, beer and alcoholic drinks of which I had three whiskey-ginger ale’s for 100 NT each.  I thought perhaps someone would bring out the hamburgers and sausages when the bon fire was lit, but there was nary a marshmallow roasted over it. I left early, hungry.”

Rita’s kitchen is also a new thing… she’s still getting the hang of it. The food vendors decided to keep it vege as many of the guests do not eat meat. Meaters can always eat meatless cuisine, but it doesn’t work the other way around. No one else seemed to notice or care.

We did not advertise our event as ‘healthy’ as DBT seems to insinuate in his article. Where did these presumptions come from?

Rocky’s Pizza is the name of my friend Max’s place. However, if DBT had taken the time to read the menu, he would have seen what was on it. We wanted to keep it simple and fast.

The bonfire is a ritual at the Refuge. The fire was actually there to keep people warm, and when the music was over (DBT missed two awesome bands) we had an old fashion campfire jam.

DBT left early because he was hungry? There was good food there.

But because we did not serve meat, pizza or fucking marshmallows, DBT folded his arms across his chest, tossed his nose in the air and humphed humphed his way to the exit. Really?

DBT seems to think that because we did not serve dead animal at our event (note, I didn’t make the menu nor the suggestion, the vendors did that all on their own) and that he rode his bicycle to the event (commendable) while our guests took scooters (and quite a few took taxis and carpooled – but DBT didn’t bother to ask about that, eh?), that our guests smoked cigarettes, vaped and that we served alcohol, that somehow we are a bunch of hypocritical hippies and that somehow DBT is better than we are? Seriously?

Basically DBT is saying No meat/perceived hippie values VS other vices/pleasures – but this begs the question: what the fuck does have to do with how much hair you have on your testicles or the price of goat cheese?

If you come to another event, bring your marshmallows and roast them to your heart’s content. Don’t be a picky fucker with your preconceived notions and you will eat well. Delicious food made by competent vendors.

I’m really trying to give DBT the benefit of the doubt and find an actual point in his article. But nary a point do I see.

6. The Bits about Boston Paul

Then DBT turns his pen on me:

Paul D… is an interesting person, friendly and vivacious. He calls his blog “The Militant Hippi.” He is more the latter than the former. The only militarism I could find in his blog history was a stint in the voluntary U.S. army in the early 90’s, though he fancies himself at risk to the KMT police that took his picture when he played music at a “Wild Strawberry Movement” rally. In his blog writings, he celebrates his twentieth “Taiwanniversary” and reviews how he ended up living in Taichung, Taiwan. He says he had a good job back in Boston but doesn’t mention what he did, only that he considered becoming a police officer in Chinatown. He rants in articles against Gxd and religion and in favor of vegetarianism.”
What is this article really about? The Refuge? Hobo Happiness? Or me? I guess this is where the meandering comes in. The writing is not specific, not focused. If it’s supposed to be a critique, it is not done well, and where I do appreciate the compliments: an interesting person, friendly and vivacious. The rest of looks like cherry-picked, discombobulated, horseradish.

If he really wanted to write something about me, I would have been happy to give an interview. Cherry picking bits from my blog and sounding like he’s an authority on aspects of my life is unprofessional (if aspiring to be a writer is his goal) at best, and absolute bollocks at worst.

The oxymoron Militant Hippi seems to have flown right over his head and had DBT asked, he would know that Militant Hippi has a few special meanings for me – on top of being my Blogging Moniker.

But based on his writing style and content, he could give a shit less on what Militant Hippi actually means.

“He says he had a good job back in Boston but doesn’t mention what he did…”
It’s actually none of his fucking business what I did. There are some things I do not share on my blog. My friends know much about my previous life. Do you know why? Because they fucking asked me…

You know what polite people and good journalists do? They ask. Not guess and then put opinions out there like it actually means something.

“…though he fancies himself at risk to the KMT police that took his picture when he played music at a “Wild Strawberry Movement” rally…”

Again, another line of tripe. I did not ‘fancy myself’ at shit. We were told before we went to perform at this political rally that we could be arrested. The anti-government things I said in Mandarin were quite risky and everyone involved had their pictures taken by undercover and uniformed police. Nothing fancy about that. I have been quite active politically here in Taiwan as this Beautiful Island Paradise is my home… and I speak up for justice and liberty for all my fellow earthlings. But again, DBT could have asked me a few follow up questions and I would have enlightened him.

“He rants in articles against Gxd and religion and in favor of vegetarianism.”

So this question is directly for DBT as I know he is reading this.

Do my rants against religion (not just god per-se) and the fact that I do not eat meat offend you? It’s the only reason I can think of for this line of BS.

“Paul D…. mentions getting his “degrees” at UMass but doesn’t mention what his “degrees” were in”. I most certainly do. You should have dug a little bit deeper. Frankly, while I am flattered that you felt the need to write about me, I am equally appalled you did not dig a little deeper. If you are that interested in me, you can read about my ‘degrees’ and what I did before I came to Taiwan here:

https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2010/02/14/boston-paul-short-historyresume/

Please do a bit more research so in the future you don’t look so much like an ass. And I say that with all due respect.

“For his Bruce Lee fetish and martial arts  interest (he opened a school once in Boston) and Mandarin study, it is clear that Paul D… loves Chinese culture and Taiwan. 
Where, in any of my writings, did you see a Bruce Lee fetish? Seriously, where are you pulling this shit out from?
For the record, I have been a martial artist from about 6 years old.

UPDATE (Dec 24):  I popped over to DBT’s page to get a picture of him for another blog post I’m writing (actually I’m re-writing his!) and found this –

DBT Bruce LeeThat is DBT in Hong Kong posing next to Bruce Lee.  Who has the fetish?

     “Paul Davies doesn’t mention his family background growing up in Boston in the blog, which he says has gotten fifty thousand visits.”
Again, my family background is none of your fucking business. And the fifty thousand visits are counted by the WordPress Blog Site.., not me… and why mention this at all? WTF does it have to do with how much you weigh or the price of horse shit used for fertilizer?

I went into my stats and clipped this for you. Thank you WordPress.

Views on my blog

He is no working class stiff and not a union man.”  Huh?     Wait….      Huh??

The house that he has since 2008 in Da-keng, I have lived in this house since 2000. Where did you get 2008? and the 30,000 ping space he rented at the old Dongshan Paradise theme park (that had been destroyed in the 1999 earthquake) Dongshan Paradise was not destroyed in the earthquake and was a helluva lot bigger than 30,000 ping. RESEARCH DBT! RESEARCH! …must have been paid for by someone, perhaps by the volunteers and friends who come and go and float with him. What is your meaning here? What are you insinuating? Research! Ask Questions! This is why your article is getting ripped apart by people that actually know what is going on. By painting me in a crappy light, you yourself look like a Bumbling Buffoon.

” ‘It’s financially self-sufficient,’ Paul said in an interview in 2011.” An interview! Yes! WHAT A GREAT IDEA! YOU should try that DBT! Perhaps then your article would not be one big piece of meandering, pointless, scathing Suck.

LUVstock was a three-day musical party, held at Dongshan Paradise yearly, until he left his lease in 2013 and moved it back to his property.”

LUVstock has been happening in one form or another since about 2003. We had LUVstock at Dongshan Paradise while The Refuge was there (we were there for three years exactly). When they SOLD THE LAND, we moved The Refuge back to our place.  We did not leave our lease.
We have been looking for a place to open a new venue, but in the meantime, we will make do with what we got.

“Whatever one wants to think about Paul D…, the “4th Hobo Happiness,” “LUVstock,” and other events he has organized are not about him, per se, but about getting Taiwan’s English-speaking ex-pats together as a community and for fun.”
“Whatever one wants to think about Paul D…” Why open the paragraph with this statement? You don’t know me, DBT. Whatever you think about Paul D…. Huh?

The events I organize are about bringing people together, not just expats. They’re about giving people opportunities, to be part of something – and for me – to feel like I’m doing my small part to make the world a better place. What, DBT, have YOU done to try to make the world a better place besides writing inflammatory articles about shit you have no idea about?

7. My Thoughts

DBT wrote this piece with scant evidence, preconceived notions and cherry picked data from my blog. My blog, where I choose to keep some things confidential but will generally provide information when asked. I was never interviewed for his piece. Did not know he was going to write a piece and treated him the same as I would any other guest at The Refuge or my home: Courteous and respectful.

However, as many of you who actually know me as a person can attest, do not mistake my friendly demeanor, charisma, peace n love hippie lifestyle (and let’s not forget “vivaciousness”!) for weakness. There are some that have learned the hard way there. If push comes to shove, I’m a fucking truck.

What prompted DBT to write in this way? Was it a low self esteem? Perhaps he was bullied in school and now the Pen is his Sword? Do I remind DBT of the bullies that used to pick on him?  Is it because I am from Boston and he’s from New York and is propagating this childish rivalry? Is he jealous of what we do here in Taiwan? I’m now beginning  to understand why others do not want to publish his articles on their pages.  The way he writes things leaves a lot to be desired.

In the comments to your post, DBT writes: I am friends with Paul and I have no reason to believe our friendship and mutual admiration won’t grow.
DBT, Facebook says we are friends as you have recently added me (and then apparently Unfriended me when you started getting heat for your article). However, if you want to know what I think a friend is… I wrote about it here (Sorry DBT, you don’t quite qualify. We are acquaintances only):

https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2012/08/13/who-what-is-a-friend-really/

For someone who wants to be friends with me, you have a strange way of showing it, DBT.

You are getting a lot of heat for your article. Think about that. Are all those people wrong with their assessment of your scathing report? Or are you? Rather than trying to defend yourself and what you wrote from the people that are not happy with your report – me included – perhaps you should look inward. Ask yourself what was your real intent writing that article?

I expect criticisms and suggestions and generally welcome them. Critiques and suggestions are acknowledged and help us to do better next time. What was surprising of course – and perhaps it is my fault as I naively expect everyone who comes to our events to be like-minded i.e. wants a good time, wants to support the community, and wants to do something different – is that upon meeting you, I wrongly surmised that you were seeking to be part of our community. 95% of the people I meet – and there are new people every week, do make it a point to be part of our community in some way. You sir, I suspect, are the other 5%. No worries, what we do is not everyone’s cup of tea… but at least the other 5% do not write inflammatory, meandering, opinionated tripe then blog it for all the world to see.

If you would like a proper interview DBT, so that you can write a factual, thoughtful piece on what we do here in Taichung, you know where to find me.

In the meantime, Peace be with you.

8. The DBT Article Reposted for your reading (dis)pleasure.

The Happy Hobo’s Refuge in Taichung

12-13-15

I went to The Refuge for the first time yesterday. It is right up Dong-Shan Road to the right of the little traffic circle on Buzi Road, but I got lost anyway; ended up doing a loop up and down the Da-keng mountain slope and back to the 7-11 on the corner of Buzi Road. After I got straight, the place was remote but easy to find. Around sixty guests paid 300 NT each to get in to the “4th Hobo Happiness.”

The Refuge is in what must have been a beautiful, western-style, two story cement tiled home on a cul-de-sac, with walled entrance and a large patio and private backyard. It is not beautiful anymore. If it were made of wood and not cement, it would be rotting apart. They may have gotten it cheaply after the 1999 earthquake affected the zone which it is in. The grounds are in shambles. Things are makeshift in the public area.

 Jack Conqueroo
Jack Conqueroo https://youtu.be/NjEHzR9fGc0
performs at the 4th Hobo Happiness

The reason for my visit was to attend a Facebook advertised “4th Hobo Happiness,” with musical guest Jack Conqueroo, a Robert Johnson-styled electric blues guitarist, harp player, and singer from Canada. He was rather good, though his set was too short. The  act before him, of two drunken male guitarists singing Dylanesque songs, went on too long. Mojo and Sons, who came on after Cook, was a country folk trio of banjo, guitar, kazoo, clarinet, and great harmonies. I didn’t catch the name of the pedestrian folk singer who came on after the bluegrass trio and talked too much about himself; I left mid-set.

Before I left, I made sure to thank Paul D… in person for publishing my radical articles on the Refuge Facebook page. Most of the time, Paul was marching around doing things to make the mostly thirty-five-year-old guests happy. At first, I had mistaken Paul for a man named Mitch (Militant Hippi Note: The Man’s name was DAVE not MITCH and he’s an awesome guy), a dried up slender oldster with a patch on his left ear sitting with a younger Asian woman (Militant Hippi Note: That younger Asian Woman was HIS WIFE and she’s awesome, too). He told Paul I was looking for him early on and I left it at that. The only person I recognized there was the guitar accompanist (Militant Hippi Note: His name was also DAVE) of a local blues singer that holds open-mic at PJ’s. I met and spoke with other nice people who had come from all over Taiwan to this event.

 Mojo and sons
Mojo and Sons https://youtu.be/UORTH2Xtwuk
perform at 4th Hobo Happiness

The “Food by Rita’s Kitchen” was simple and no pizza did I see from Rocky’s Pizza from 4pm when I arrived until 7:30 pm when I left. Rita’s kitchen was vegetarian chili and burrito. Despite the “healthy” meatless cuisine, there was plenty of cigarette smoke and vape, beer and alcoholic drinks of which I had three whiskey-ginger ale’s for 100 NT each.  I thought perhaps someone would bring out the hamburgers and sausages when the bon fire was lit, but there was nary a marshmallow roasted over it. I left early, hungry. On the way out, the street was clogged with motorcycles and cars of party-goers. Mine was the only bicycle I saw parked outside.

Paul Davies is an interesting person, friendly and vivacious. He calls his blog “The Militant Hippi.” He is more the latter than the former. The only militarism I could find in his blog history was a stint in the voluntary U.S. army in the early 90’s, though he fancies himself at risk to the KMT police that took his picture when he played music at a “Wild Strawberry Movement” rally. In his blog writings, he celebrates his twentieth “Taiwanniversary” and reviews how he ended up living in Taichung, Taiwan. He says he had a good job back in Boston but doesn’t mention what he did, only that he considered becoming a police officer in Chinatown. He rants in articles against Gxd and religion and in favor of vegetarianism.

 The Refuge 7 years ago
Guests enjoy the Tiki-bar atmosphere  at The Refuge

(Militant Hippi Note: this picture he uses above was taken 7 years ago)

Paul Davies mentions getting his “degrees” at UMass but doesn’t mention what his “degrees” were in. He is affiliated with Donghai University here in Taichung, originally as a student, and met a number of intellectual ex-pat friends there. For his Bruce Lee fetish and martial arts  interest (he opened a school once in Boston) and Mandarin study, it is clear that Paul Davies loves Chinese culture and Taiwan.
Paul Davies doesn’t mention his family background growing up in Boston in the blog, which he says has gotten fifty thousand visits. He is no working class stiff and not a union man. The house that he has since 2008 in Da-keng, and the 30,000 ping space he rented at the old Dongshan Paradise theme park (that had been destroyed in the 1999 earthquake) must have been paid for by someone, perhaps by the volunteers and friends who come and go and float with him. “It’s financially self-sufficient,” Paul said in an interview in 2011.

 The Frog II
Paul Davies (right) makes music in The Refuge sound studio

MILITANT HIPPI NOTE: The picture above is from The Frog II not from The Refuge Studios. RESEARCH!.

LUVstock was a three-day musical party, held at Dongshan Paradise yearly, until he left his lease in 2013 and moved it back to his property. Though his musical aspirations never left him, he managed to settle down enough to marry and even raise a child. There is certainly a lot of sharing what he has with others and a new age spirit glow; donations accepted.
Whatever one wants to think about Paul Davies, the “4th Hobo Happiness,” “LUVstock,” and other events he has organized are not about him, per se, but about getting Taiwan’s English-speaking ex-pats together as a community and for fun. Music and art predominate in his home and a volunteer spirit permeates the grounds.

https://www.facebook.com/TheRefugeCommunity/

Militant Hippi Note:  If you would like to read a more accurate report of The Refuge you can go here:

http://www.taiwanfun.com/central/taichung/nightlife/1007/1007TheRefuge.htm

and

http://www.thewildeast.net/2011/01/the-wonder-that-is-the-refuge-taichung/
(The second link talks about when we were at Dong Shan Paradise, but most of the facts are right)

9. (NEW) The Militant Hippi AKA Boston Paul Re-Wrote DBT’s Article

I couldn’t resist! It didn’t take long. I just renamed his article, then focused the premise. I then cut out anything irrelevant or scathing.

Check it out here:

https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2015/12/24/odious-scathing-blog-post-rewritten/

10. COMMENTS ON DBT’s FROM SOCIAL MEDIA

Titus Pance What is the point of the introductory (dis)qualification?….rhetorical question, please do not answer.
DBT I’m not sure what you mean. Thanks for your comment though

 

 

Timothy Tucker “two drunken guitarists singing Dylanesque songs”

Fuck yeah. We’re hanging out, getting drunk and folksy. You bet your ass we’re gonna be drinking and enjoying the community. I don’t think they were even drunk when they played yet, but I can’t be sure.

“the pedestrian folk singer who came on after the bluegrass trio […] talked too much about himself; I left mid-set.”

Pedestrian. I’m trying to figure out how you intended this adjective to come off. Did you use it because he seemed common and banal? He’s nothing special? He’s just one of the people you might see while driving or walking? Maybe it was because you saw him walking at some point during the night in an area where there were motor vehicles also active. Here’s something to put in your notes to avoid further embarrassment; using the adjectives “pedestrian” and “folk” in the same sentence is redundant. The set that you walked out on half-way through was the set that the whole event was put on for. The pedestrian folk singer that you walked out on was the act that the other acts were giddy about opening for. He’s the guy that people across Canada, Taiwan, and whatever other countries he’s traveled to sit by their Facebook feed and refresh his website to see when he might be coming back through their little town.

My non-rhetorical question for you is: why did you come to the event?

You clearly don’t appreciate what folk music is for. Maybe you were past your deadline for your blog. That’s fine. I understand pressure. Maybe I could suggest that next time you take your notepad to the local club or the local lounge bar. You might find more of what you’re looking for and perhaps more what your blog readers are more interested in.

If you understand within a year that events and music can be the glue that melds a community, I hope that you can make it to the Hobo event next year and I’ll be shaking your hand with a sincere smile.
Mikey James That’s the best review of those 2 drunken guitarists! I wonder who they are hahaha

Greg Niederhaus Very good points here. Extremely well said.

Mikey James Yeah! Tim is always on point!
Shaun Armstrong Nailed it

 

DBT You write an article with the vantage point of seeing hundreds of gatherings with thousands of folk singers over forty years, the best folk singers who started revolutions, not garden parties, and you will have a different perspective. Until then, happy Mondays.
Greg Niederhaus That certainly had nothing to do with me. I write about industry. Get your facts straight.

 

Timothy Tucker You didn’t answer my question.
DBT I went to do the same thing you did. Why did you go?
Rachel McPhail Todd Blackhurst: does this post belong in this group? It looks like it’s a promo for a clickbait blog site and not necessarily “information”.

On another note, thanks to all the admins of this group. Dealing with 5000+ members can’t be easy.

Todd Blackhurst Rachel McPhail – we have discussed this type of blog and although many people might feel the same as you, our guidelines do allow blogs that convey information about Taichung to be shared in this group. In that sense, it is welcome here. Now, whether or not this is accepted by the members, agreed with or whatever – that is for you the individual to decide. Click, comment or disregard. As long as the comments also fall within our guidelines, we will leave it alone.
DBT Thank you for protecting discourse
Rachel McPhail Thanks for the prompt response.
Rachel McPhail Discourse? Clickbait.
DBT I wrote an article for you to read. It comes from my blog. You are welcome to read it.

 

Greg Niederhaus I am amused. This guy David has the gift of the gab with no insight. His gab has grammatical errors He got blow-worthy drunk and rode his bicycle. That is illegal . He knows nothing about Paul, who he criticizes. Paul has degrees in Literature and Philosophy. This critical man David Barry Temple seems to Know more.He did not know that. He knows zero about a school through which Paul trained policemen in self defense. Nothing about Kungfu with a Master at the age of 6. David belittles military service when the man para-dropped into South America. I know Paul. Thoroughly. I know our community. Whoever you are, David. You are a big talker. You now have an opponent. You go try and build this, and come back with self criticism. Your rant is bull shit. Who are you? I see David as a negative foreigner in Taiwan who misrepresents those of us who really laid down the groundwork. David should leave. He misrepresents the ones of us who love Taiwan. And by the way, Where is his original 1500 word rant?
DBT You told me what I didn’t know and asked. I thank you. You have a big filthy mouth for insulting me. You will not have that chance again.
Cousin Avi You hear that, Greg? YOU have “a big filthy mouth.”   I was gonna add something but it appears I am too gentle and refined for such “discourse.”

Richard Wright Better than a purdy mouth. Luckily “you will not have that chance again.”
Creepy.

Greg Niederhaus I looked up “purdy”. (American short story teller. I suppose that was directed towards this original critic. For this David guy to come out and rip into what Paul and many others do to bring community together with minimal resources is asinine. Yes, we survive, yet, contribute to community… is the endeavor bad because the dude did not get Pizza? I enjoyed the samosas, pasta salad and fries. Cook’s show is not about himself. It is about the bridge-crossing between cultures he lives by, through music and travel. .Side note- The homes here are indestructible and prove so through nearly minimal earthquake damage. Wherever my filthy mouth appears here escapes me. This demented dude is a disgrace to the foreigner community in Taiwan.

Greg Niederhaus DBT de-friended me. Excellent. He cannot answer up. Down the rabbit hole he goes.

 

Kevin Diamond I was half-expecting some “then I blinked a few times…” and “I noticed that I swallowed more in the Dakeng area than usual” type sentences while I was reading this aimless, meandering rubbish.

Whoever told you at some point in your life that you ought to write a blog lied to you.

DBT You put your foot in your mouth defending a man I didn’t insult. How dare you?

DBT I am friends with Paul and I have no reason to believe our friendship and mutual admiration won’t grow.

Kevin Diamond I suspect there are a plethora of things you have no reason to believe.

Paul Davies For the record, I am not friends with people I have just met. Acquaintance is the better word.

Read more on ‘Friends’ here:

https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2012/08/13/who-what-is-a-friend-really/

 

 

 

Greg Niederhaus “Purdy” as I looked up its meaning, means “American short story teller”. Dunno if that is directed at me or the author who tried to whinge about a community builder, struggling vendors, musicians

Anew Calling Hi David. Great article. You really captured the harmony and friendship involved in the Refuge gatherings. I bet you are looking forward to ‘Hobo Happiness V – Return of the pedestrian’. Your skill at writing has blown my mind – never have sentences felt so soul-less. What a wonderful pastiche. And the photography – absolutely everything out of focus – really develops a simpleton persona worthy of the greatest of parody writers. I love the character you created – a bumbling buffoon that would drink three whiskeys and forget to watch the act he came to review, whilst reviewing everything else. Genius. I am a writer too and I have tried to capture this idiocy before, but never as well as you. Keep up the good work.

Anew Calling https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ncQsBzI-JHc

 

Queen Bicycle Race (Live 1978)

 

DBT I read your insulting comment and I had to smile. I refuse to believe your back-biting is reflective of “harmony and friendship” at Hobo Happiness 4.

John Davies i think everyone is entitled to an opinion…i don’t think one person should like something, or enjoy something, or feel a way about something because everyone else does….It is obvious this guy David, is ignorant of what paul, the refuge, and the community, that he and his lovely wife sandra, and of course all those people who take time out of their day to contribute, is all about…Im guessing David certainly isn’t on the gathering list. I also don’t think that a place needs to look like the ritz in order to have a fun time there…if that were the case, i would have had a terrible childhood, as i spent most my time in garbage cans looking for toys people threw away, cos dad couldn’t afford to buy them…However, everyone hates a critic, more so, because critics are usually those people who are good a finding faults in the things that others do, yet are almost completely incapable of producing anything of value….That being said, constructive criticism is different thing….constructive criticism, ought teach people where to improve….Unlike this David guy, whose criticism to me seems, very destructive, annoying, somewhat foot stompingly childlike in its delivery, and apparently adds nothing good to the community that all you REFUGEE’s work so hard in providing…Thank you to paul, sandra and everyone else who aids in my simple little pleasures… BEAR HUGs

DBT Despite the negative energy displayed by some of you, I never said I didn’t like the Refuge, the 4 Hobo Happiness, or Paul Davies; as I said in my blog, I left early because was hungry.

DBT In the Militant Hippi, no types of degrees were written. The singer you refer is my opinion. There was a small choice of meatless food. I didn’t see any bicycles. As for my writing style, if you don’t like it, don’t read it. Why are you trying to vilify me?!

 

 

Cousin AviDBT: You put Paul’s “degrees” in quotation marks, creating the implication that he has not studied or does not hold the degrees he claims.
You described the headline act as “Pedestrian” even while admitting you didn’t stay to see the show.
You shat on the performance of amateurs as a couple of drunks – rather a stark rejection of any notion of community or support for same.
You bitched about the food, for fuck sake.
You complained about the PARKING (Note to Paul – valets, motherfucker…valets!).
The foregoing notwithstanding, the article itself is a disjointed jumble of run-on, stream-of-consciousness sentences barely connected to the subject matter of the paragraph in which they’re imprisoned or each other.
Then, when people remark on your weak command of the language and condescending attitude, you retract everything you wrote and insist that you enjoyed the event and that you and Paul enjoy some great degree of mutual admiration…and, of course, everyone who remarks on the self-important, facile opinions you posted in public deserves to be insulted.
Negative energy, indeed. When you stop condescendingly shitting on an event you barely attended, didn’t understand, and stop holding yourself out as the preeminent judge of what constitutes good folk music, you may find the “energy” you get back a little more positive.
As it stands, perhaps you should stick to blogging. Posting reviews in a public forum like this – which is to invite response – doesn’t seem to be your strong suit when people don’t like what you write.

Rachel McPhail Kudos.

Titus Pance Hell hath no fury like a Daken hippie criticised. I nominate this thread for most ironic of 2015.

 

Paul Davies Hell hath no fury like a Daken hippie criticised…

Awesome.

Stay tuned.

Steve George I remember this guy – he’s the same one that wrote in his blog about how horrible it was that nobody bothered the Indonesian people that were chilling in the park.

DBT You’re the same
DBT You still can’t read.

THE MILITANT HIPPI:  I want to note that not everyone is going to like what we do at The Refuge, and we can certainly take criticisms/critiques. What most people are upset about – we at The Refuge Community included –  was that the ‘facts’ in this article were not facts, the information was not accurate, the writing style was amateur and the focus of the article was… well there didn’t seem to be any focus. It was also heavily opinionated and obviously not well researched.  I may re-write his article myself. you know, just for fun.

*******************************************************

You can Follow the Militant Hippi/Boston Paul on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/BostonPaul
or
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MilitantHippi

You Might also like to read:

What is a Friend?  https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2012/08/13/who-what-is-a-friend-really/

Published in: on December 22, 2015 at 12:36 PM  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2015/12/22/boston-paul-the-refuge-click-bait-our-response-to-an-odious-blog-post/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. First off, your WordPress Blog stats would be a HELL of a lot better if you got off Loserbook (etc) and spent more time here. And while you’re at it, tell Cousinavi to do the same! I’ve even started fake arguments with him just to trick him into visiting his OWN blog! That dude is driven by constant conflict…and booze. He can’t survive without both.

    Boston Paul, I’ve been reading your blog from the very beginning (considering how seldom you’re here, that’s hardly a major accomplishment). About 25% of your hits are probably from me. But aside from knowing your opinions (Gxd & vegetarianism especially 😉 ) all I really know is that you’re an ex-pat, ex-military, American hippie living in Taiwan. You’re involved in festivals and the music scene. But that’s all I really should know about you, really.

    With that in mind,. I think I may represent a very good “test market” for DBT’s article and the potential “damage” to your image.

    Here’s the good news. Accurate or not, you come off looking fine. It’s clear the writer’s style is a bit jaded/snarky, so any reader will take any negative with a grain of salt. Not knowing any of the relevant facts, I’d say the most concerning part is where he questions the finances.

    “The house that he has since 2008 in Da-keng, and the 30,000 ping space he rented at the old Dongshan Paradise theme park (that had been destroyed in the 1999 earthquake) must have been paid for by someone, perhaps by the volunteers and friends who come and go and float with him. “It’s financially self-sufficient,” Paul said in an interview in 2011.”

    Vaguely implying you might be a hippie-cult leader taking advantage of your followers is more serious than anything else in the article. But he does quote you claiming that it supports itself, which takes some of the edge off it.

    DBT writes: “I am friends with Paul and I have no reason to believe our friendship and mutual admiration won’t grow.”….
    DBT, Facebook says we are friends as you have recently added me (and then apparently Unfriended me when you started getting heat for your article).

    Well, there’s your first mistake! You can’t believe ANYTHING on Loserbook. It’s a place for self-promoting lies and hurling feces on other people from a safe distance.

    Facebook Inc itself is a ridiculously over-valued corporation that has made a worthless asshole billions from the selling of the personal information on its users…accurate or otherwise. Loserbook is the World Capital of fake bullshit. It’s worse than FOX Noise! Is it accurate? No. Is it honest? No. (And just what the hell kind of hippie voluntarily boosts a corporation’s bottom line when plenty of other no/low cost options are available? I sure as hell don’t.)

    But Loserbook (& social media) is the “new standard”. It takes over your life. It even tells you who your (capital F) “Friends” are. If it didn’t, how would you (or the NSA) ever know who you like & associate with? You & DBT are Friends. It says so all the databases on you!

    And this is the key part to the entire thing….Unfortunately, Social Media now sets the standards bar for everything, “journalism” included. As bad as the Mainstream Media is, Social Media’s “standards” make Tattoo from Fantasy Island look like Wilt Chamberlain…on stilts!

    I don’t think DBT was out to get you, or the festival. Other than some comments aimed at some musical acts (It was a “review”, after all.), it was neutral-to-positive. From what little I can tell, the dude was really just sloppy & lazy. He’d rather quote old shit he found on the Inter-tubes about you rather than do an actual interview. But this is ALL par for the Internet course. Hell, the mere fact he actually bothered to show up puts him in the upper percentiles of Internet “journalism”! Sad, but true.

    And that’s the real danger here. What you and others put on the Interwebs about you is assumed to be 100% accurate and the definitive picture of you…for forever! Why bother with the burdensome task of doing actual research, or interviewing people, when you just can stay home and look shit up on your computer? Or you can do it on your Stupidphone while riding the bus in-between Tinder hook-ups. Work? Effort? Making sure information is accurate and up to date? “That is sooooo over with Grandpa!!!”

    Any fuckwipe can write ANYTHING on the World-pipes. No facts required! No ethics required. No knowledge required. And it will colour ALL public opinion, marketing & employee “research”…and government surveillance done on you. Nobody with 2 brain cells to rub together should use their real name on the Inter-pipes. (I recommend you scrub your real name the way you scrubbed DBT’s)

    Never mind maliciousness, even the costs of MERE SLOPPINESS can be very large. This is just one relatively benign example.

    Here’s hoping it’s the last one you experience.

    • Sedate, it is always a pleasure reading your response to my bits. Always.

      Thank you for the positivity and the honest critique.

      I have a few other of your Comments I need/want to reply to.. and I’ve got a few writing projects on the go… so I’ll be here at Good Ol’ Word Press a lot more than I have been.

      Your Sedated Wisdom anticipated and appreciated.

      ~~

      My band might have a show in Las Vegas next year (Chinese New Year), if this pans out, it’ll be the first time I’ve been for a North American visit in 11 years. Perhaps we could hang out as I probably wont be back in that part of the world again for another 11 years.

      😉

      • Good to hear. I always enjoy your perspective. It’s almost as wordy as mine.

        Good luck on the Vegas gig, but I live way the hell up in Canuckistan and am much closer to Pauless Boston than Vegas. (I use ISP scrambling software that sometimes puts me in Nevada) Besides, I’m just too old & bitter for Vegas. Hell, I rarely have the energy to leave the house anymore.

        But Chinese New Year or not, how the hell does a Taiwanese based hippie band get a Vegas gig after not even being in the country for 11 years? Is this gig playing background music for an off-the-strip strip club, or lounge music for a “bunny ranch”? (Luv Stock, indeed!)

        But don’t count on making it to that show. You’ll probably discover you’re on The Do Not Fly List…or the Go Directly To A CIA Blacksite List. As of late, Watch Lists are all growing faster than the weeds on my lawn.

        Either way, this will make for a good blog post when the time comes.

  2. I couldn’t resist.

    I rewrote his article:

    The Refuge, Hobo Happiness IV and Boston Paul

    Read it here:

    https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2015/12/24/odious-scathing-blog-post-rewritten/

  3. “All great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.”
    -Albert Einstein

  4. At least the photographs aren’t as bad as the writing.

    • Two of the photographs were taken from my FB/blog.

      😉


Leave a Reply

