Odious, Scathing Blog Post Rewritten

IMAG5432DBT

Boston Paul                                               DBT

It is 1:00AM. I’m ready to call it a night. But wait. There is this lingering thought in my head.
It just won’t go away.

I know I said it is water under the bridge. But I just can’t let it go.

I decided to post a follow up article in regard to the odious, meandering, scathing blog post about us from the other day.

I couldn’t resist.

I rewrote DBT’s article.  (No you didn’t!) Yes, I did.

I even renamed it.

I cut the meandering out. I cut out unnecessary scathing remarks and I breathed new life into his blog post. Facts and info… it’s now legit.

I’ve also included his original article  – scroll down – for comparison

To read all about the recent Hullabaloo .. you can find it here:

https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2015/12/22/boston-paul-the-refuge-click-bait-our-response-to-an-odious-blog-post/

Happy Reading!

The Refuge, Hobo Happiness IV and Boston Paul

12-13-15

I went to The Refuge for the first time yesterday. It is right up Dong-Shan Road to the right of the little traffic circle on Buzi Road, but I got lost anyway.

I ended up doing a loop up and down the Da-keng mountain slope and back to the 7-11 on the corner of Buzi Road – I was on my bicycle.

The Refuge is not easy to find, but once you’ve been there, finding it again will be easy.  The entrance was about 300 NT and I estimate there were about sixty guests at the 4th Hobo Happiness.

The Refuge is in what must have been a beautiful, western-style, three story cement tiled home on a cul-de-sac, with walled entrance and a large patio and private backyard. The property may have seen better days and I suspect they may have gotten it cheaply after the 1999 earthquake affected the zone which it is in.

The reason for my visit was to attend a Facebook advertised Refuge event called Hobo Happiness IV with  – among others – musical guest Jack Conqueroo, a Robert Johnson-styled electric blues guitarist, harp player, and singer from Canada. He was rather good, though I feel his set was too short.

The act before him were a couple of aspiring male guitarists singing Dylanesque songs. Then came Mojo and Sons, who came on after Conqueroo. They were a country folk trio of banjo, guitar, kazoo, clarinet, and great harmonies.

I didn’t catch the name of the folk singer who came on after the bluegrass trio as I had to leave mid-set.

Before I left, I made sure to thank Boston Paul in person for publishing my radical articles on the Refuge Facebook page. Most of the time, Paul was marching around doing things to make his guests happy. At first, I had mistaken Paul for a slender, older gentleman with a patch on his left ear named Dave. He told Paul I was looking for him early on and I left it at that. The only person I recognized there was the guitar accompanist (also named Dave!) of a local blues singer that holds open-mic at PJ’s. I met and spoke with other nice people who had come from all over Taiwan to this event.

The “Food by Rita’s Kitchen” was simple and no pizza did I see from Rocky’s Pizza from 4pm when I arrived until 7:30 pm when I left. I’m not sure why there was no pizza. Perhaps I missed something.

Rita’s kitchen was vegetarian chili and pea soup. The bar served up a variety of alcoholic beverages of which I consumed three whiskey-ginger ales for 100 NT each.

I thought perhaps someone would bring out the hamburgers and sausages when the bonfire was lit, but there was nary a marshmallow roasted over it. It turns out the hosts started the bonfire, apparently a ritual at The Refuge – to keep people warm and to sing around after the main acts finished.

As I’m a big fan of meat, I left early – a bit hungry – to find food. On the way out, the street was clogged with motorcycles and cars of party-goers. Mine was the only bicycle I saw parked outside… I was hoping I could meet a few bicycle enthusiasts to ride with one day, perhaps I’ll have better luck next time.

Boston Paul is an interesting person, friendly and vivacious. He has a blog called ‘The Militant Hippi’ though he seems to be more the latter than the former.

I took a quick scan of his blog and saw a few posts I thought added to his charisma. He served in the U.S. army in the 1980s and played music at the ‘Wild Strawberry Movement’ rally in Taipei. He also recently celebrated his twentieth anniversary in Taiwan and commemorated the event with a blog post called “Taiwanniversary” where he reviews how he ended up living in Taichung, Taiwan. He is from Boston, not too far from where I am from in New York. A few rants about religion can also be found on his blog and he seems to support vegetarianism.

Paul holds degrees from UMass (Boston) in philosophy and English. And studied Mandarin multiple semesters at Donghai University here in Taichung. He also has an interest in martial arts (he opened a school once in Boston). It is clear that Boston Paul loves Chinese culture and Taiwan.

He has lived in the house in Dakeng where the Refuge is since 2000.  Apparently the Refuge used to be on land comprising of 60,000 ping at the old Dongshan Paradise theme park. The park hadn’t been used in years, and Paul saw an opportunity to use the space and expand The Refuge.

Though there are volunteers and friends who help out at The Refuge, “It’s financially self-sufficient,” Paul said in an interview in 2011.

Among his many projects, he founded LUVstock, a three-day music fest, that was held at Dongshan Paradise yearly, until the land was sold in 2013. Since then, they have been doing ‘Mini Luvs’ at the current Refuge until they find a new venue for their event.

Boston Paul is a busy man, but he has still managed to settle down enough to marry and raise a child. There is certainly a lot of sharing what he has with others and a new age spirit glow.

The events Boston Paul organizes are not about him, per se, but more about merging Taiwan’s ex-pats, the Taiwanese and the community at large to gather in the name of Art, Music, Community and good old fashion fun!

~FIN!

There you have it. It was nice. was it not? To the point and informative.

Now see what he wrote:

 The Original Article:

 

The DBT Article Reposted for your reading (dis)pleasure.

The Happy Hobo’s Refuge in Taichung

12-13-15

I went to The Refuge for the first time yesterday. It is right up Dong-Shan Road to the right of the little traffic circle on Buzi Road, but I got lost anyway; ended up doing a loop up and down the Da-keng mountain slope and back to the 7-11 on the corner of Buzi Road. After I got straight, the place was remote but easy to find. Around sixty guests paid 300 NT each to get in to the “4th Hobo Happiness.”

The Refuge is in what must have been a beautiful, western-style, two story cement tiled home on a cul-de-sac, with walled entrance and a large patio and private backyard. It is not beautiful anymore. If it were made of wood and not cement, it would be rotting apart. They may have gotten it cheaply after the 1999 earthquake affected the zone which it is in. The grounds are in shambles. Things are makeshift in the public area.

The reason for my visit was to attend a Facebook advertised “4th Hobo Happiness,” with musical guest Jack Conqueroo, a Robert Johnson-styled electric blues guitarist, harp player, and singer from Canada. He was rather good, though his set was too short. The  act before him, of two drunken male guitarists singing Dylanesque songs, went on too long. Mojo and Sons, who came on after Cook, was a country folk trio of banjo, guitar, kazoo, clarinet, and great harmonies. I didn’t catch the name of the pedestrian folk singer who came on after the bluegrass trio and talked too much about himself; I left mid-set.

Before I left, I made sure to thank Paul D… in person for publishing my radical articles on the Refuge Facebook page. Most of the time, Paul was marching around doing things to make the mostly thirty-five-year-old guests happy. At first, I had mistaken Paul for a man named Mitch, a dried up slender oldster with a patch on his left ear sitting with a younger Asian woman. He told Paul I was looking for him early on and I left it at that. The only person I recognized there was the guitar accompanist of a local blues singer that holds open-mic at PJ’s. I met and spoke with other nice people who had come from all over Taiwan to this event.

The “Food by Rita’s Kitchen” was simple and no pizza did I see from Rocky’s Pizza from 4pm when I arrived until 7:30 pm when I left. Rita’s kitchen was vegetarian chili and burrito. Despite the “healthy” meatless cuisine, there was plenty of cigarette smoke and vape, beer and alcoholic drinks of which I had three whiskey-ginger ale’s for 100 NT each.  I thought perhaps someone would bring out the hamburgers and sausages when the bon fire was lit, but there was nary a marshmallow roasted over it. I left early, hungry. On the way out, the street was clogged with motorcycles and cars of party-goers. Mine was the only bicycle I saw parked outside.

Paul D… is an interesting person, friendly and vivacious. He calls his blog “The Militant Hippi.” He is more the latter than the former. The only militarism I could find in his blog history was a stint in the voluntary U.S. army in the early 90’s, though he fancies himself at risk to the KMT police that took his picture when he played music at a “Wild Strawberry Movement” rally. In his blog writings, he celebrates his twentieth “Taiwanniversary” and reviews how he ended up living in Taichung, Taiwan. He says he had a good job back in Boston but doesn’t mention what he did, only that he considered becoming a police officer in Chinatown. He rants in articles against Gxd and religion and in favor of vegetarianism.

 

Paul D… mentions getting his “degrees” at UMass but doesn’t mention what his “degrees” were in. He is affiliated with Donghai University here in Taichung, originally as a student, and met a number of intellectual ex-pat friends there. For his Bruce Lee fetish and martial arts  interest (he opened a school once in Boston) and Mandarin study, it is clear that Paul Davies loves Chinese culture and Taiwan.

EDITOR’S NOTE:

Speaking of Bruce Lee Fetish..  who really has the fetish?
Here’s DBT pictured with Bruce Lee! Oh the irony!

DBT Bruce Lee

Paul D… doesn’t mention his family background growing up in Boston in the blog, which he says has gotten fifty thousand visits. He is no working class stiff and not a union man. The house that he has since 2008 in Da-keng, and the 30,000 ping space he rented at the old Dongshan Paradise theme park (that had been destroyed in the 1999 earthquake) must have been paid for by someone, perhaps by the volunteers and friends who come and go and float with him. “It’s financially self-sufficient,” Paul said in an interview in 2011.

 

LUVstock was a three-day musical party, held at Dongshan Paradise yearly, until he left his lease in 2013 and moved it back to his property. Though his musical aspirations never left him, he managed to settle down enough to marry and even raise a child. There is certainly a lot of sharing what he has with others and a new age spirit glow; donations accepted.
Whatever one wants to think about Paul D…, the “4th Hobo Happiness,” “LUVstock,” and other events he has organized are not about him, per se, but about getting Taiwan’s English-speaking ex-pats together as a community and for fun. Music and art predominate in his home and a volunteer spirit permeates the grounds.
Would love to hear your thoughts… put em’ in the comments!

Peace

*******************************************************

You can Follow the Militant Hippi/Boston Paul on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/BostonPaul
or
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MilitantHippi

You Might also like to read:

What is a Friend?  https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2012/08/13/who-what-is-a-friend-really/

Published in: on December 24, 2015 at 1:54 AM  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bostonpaul.wordpress.com/2015/12/24/odious-scathing-blog-post-rewritten/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey, should the musical-hippie thing not pan out for you, maybe you got a career in newspaper editing! ….”a career in newspapers”…Hahahaha!!!!!

    And that’s the point of my ridiculously long comment in your original article on the topic. (Check it out.)

    Almost gone are the days of professional journalists doing fact-checked work under the purview of professional editors. These days, any nimrod with fingers can write whatever the fuck they want about anything and…remotely accurate or not…have it potentially seen by billions.

    If there was anything resembling “journalism” left in this world, DBT’s article would have been transformed into your re-write of it…. before a single member of the public ever saw it! But thanks to the Interwebs, all that has been stripped away forever.

    As a direct result, you and the event were (mildly?) mischaracterized. It seems this simple absence of media professionalism (that dominated for centuries) has spawned into yet another Internet dung throwing competition…and caused a peace-loving hippie to get hopping mad!

    If I had a penny for every time something like this has happened in the last 10 years, I could probably buy every legitimate newspaper left in North America.

    • Greetings Sedate!

      I love editing and am an editor in a few different capacities…

      Which why fact checking is important. Not looking like an amateur Hack subject to Internet ridicule is on my list of things I don’t l don’t want.

      If people don’t like me, I’m fine with that. Ignore me.

      But to write a piece that is absolute hogwash – as if one is an authority on the subject matter – does ruffle those peacock feathers.

      All good. I think a point has been made… and if he hasn’t learned a lesson, he most certainly learned a little respect.


Leave a Reply

